Distress! Distress!

distress call.jpg


Sec. 3100.053. ORIENTATION ON FLAGPOLE OR FLAGSTAFF. If the state flag is displayed on a flagpole or flagstaff, the white stripe should be at the top of the flag, except as a signal of dire distress in an instance of extreme danger to life or property.

Didn’t these people learn in elementary school, “Smoke over fire?”

(The white goes on TOP.)

I’ll bet they don’t remember the official pledge, either:

Honor the Texas flag; I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one and indivisible.

So here’s my question.

How should I let them know? Knock on the door? “Excuse me, but your Texas flag is UPSIDE DOWN?”

Should I call the cops and report that the family on the corner is in dire distress?

Should I storm the back yard and shout, “I’ve got my gun! I’LL SAVE YOU!!!”

Or should I just leave an anonymous note that says, “Hey, you. Fix your damn flag, Texans don’t SHOW distress, damn it!”

Because they’ve been flying it that way for a week and it’s bugging the hell out of me….

Oh good grief.

(slapping forehead)

I feel so dumb. Of COURSE they’re flying it upside down. Of COURSE they know it’s a distress signal.

They must have just figured out who is in the White House!

I guess I’ll leave them and their political protest alone.

9 Comments

Filed under History, Texas

9 responses to “Distress! Distress!

  1. … in the Whitehouse … and also the GOVERNOR’S MANSION!
    Hey, let’s everybody fly it in distress mode ’til Kinky gets elected!

  2. I wonder what would happen if I called the local Fox affiliate and told them that a political protest movement has started in Dallas, and that it started at the house on the corner, and you know, wacky political mischief ensues!

  3. Tape a polite corrective explanatory note to their door, and make sure you write it in crayon, restrict yourself to short common words, and try to affect a Yankee accent in your mind whilst composing said missive, as surely we’re dealing with the lowest sort of Damned Furriner.
    .
    .
    .
    fourth-gen B (still a relative newbie, but gettin’ there…)

  4. It did cross my mind that they weren’t, um, natives. But then, not many people move here and fly Texas flags. (I didn’t check to see if they had an A&M bumper sticker. That might explain it, too.)

    I still prefer to think of it as a political protest and salute whenever I pass, though. It will be interesting to see if they ever change it.

  5. But then, not many people move here and fly Texas flags.

    We must get a better class of loser down here near the coast, as I see more than a few Lone Stars flying (and right side up, too!).

    Maybe it’s “The Oklahoma Effect.”
    .
    .
    .
    B

  6. Oh, I see a lot of Lone Star flags — I just didn’t know there were many “furriners” flying them!

    You know why Oklahoma license plates say “Oklahoma is OK” don’t you?

    Because they don’t know how to spell mediocre.

  7. Oh, that’s nothing. At some international event, I think it was the U.S. Marines who did it, too, Canada’s flag was flown upside down. I mean, pointy end of the maple leaf goes up. It’s not that hard. 😉

  8. Oh, but really. What are a bunch of pissed off Canadians gonna do?

    Yell at us in French? Politely?

    Don’t piss off the Texans. Fly the flag right.

  9. Yeah, but the thing is, no one cared. We just roll our eyes and say, “Americans….” And that’s explanation enough. 😉

    This flag is flying upside down. Can you believe it?

    Stupid French. Can’t even fly their own flag right.

    On a side note, I recently discovered their is such a thing as anti-Canadianism. I know, I know, it’s hard to believe, isn’t it? It’s not like we’re smug smartasses or anything. {grin}

    But like the flag incident, it backfires:
    Humourous anti-Canadianism often focuses on broadly-known attributes of Canada and Canadians (such as cold weather or public health care), as the finer details of Canadian culture and politics are generally not well known outside Canada. Consequently, such humour is often made at the expense of accuracy outside Canada. However, these broad targets are more accurately caricatured within Canada itself. Such self-deprecating humour is nearly universal among Canadian humourists. In keeping with this attitude, some genuinely critical anti-Canadianisms (such as “Soviet Canuckistan”) are embraced by Canadians as humourous, in defiance of the original intent.
    Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-Canadianism

Hit me with it.