Macs get all the cool stuff.

Toni told me about it first. And shared her frustration that it’s only for Macs. And I blew it off. You know, just a nice little package of gimmicks and aren’t there other similar programs out there and why would I want this if I’m so happy with my real 3x5s and I’ve been using MS Word since I bought my first Mac in 1984 (yes, THAT Mac) and bought my first MS Word 1.0 for $129.95. Especially when writing a novel, I think the idea of buying specific word processing software is silly. Word is truly enough. Really.

I still haven’t reconciled with not using Word but I succumbed to the siren song of “free software demo” and am currently exploring the pleasures of Scrivener.

Right now I’m loving the gimmick aspect–I love this corkboard on my screen that displays all the character images I’ve gathered for my new project. I thought I might print them out and make some sort of a collage like Jenny Crusie (scroll to bottom to see what I mean/link courtesy of Toni, again), but right now this is so much easier and I like it a lot.

About the corkboard. I know other screenwriting programs offer similar stuff, and if you use one that does what Scrivener does, please let me know because I have friends with PCs who are jealous, ya know. But I know I’ve seen lots of programs that allow you to do things similar to this:

That didn’t impress me much, seen it before, more or less. But for the first time ever, I’ve been collecting visual images to inspire/intrigue me while I’m writing, and I regret not being able to show you a pic of it*, but you can also import images, videos, audio, etc. to a Research corkboard. My corkboard is now covered with lovely images of locations and characters. When my new widescreen monitor shows up (one that actually works, this time) I’ll be abe to have the corkboard open while I’m working. And did I mention, my images are really lovely and wonderful and inspire me to write?

Or, here’s an image from the Scrivener site that shows somebody with a single image open with their work, rather than an entire corkboard.

Okay, yes, bells and whistles. Gimmicks, maybe. But this stuff, I love.

So, sorry if you don’t have a Mac and can’t get a lovely demo of your own to play with, and pay for (only $39.95) should you decide to keep it.

This won’t replace my 3x5s because I don’t want it to. I love my real 3x5s. But I’ll also dupicate them into this program, because yet another way of using it is to have the scene card open in the right panel while you’re writing, along with any notes you’ve made.

Scrivener. Check it out. If you have a Mac. Let me know what you think. Do you really use it, or did the fun/new wear off after awhile?

*There is also the issue that even if I could do a screenshot of my corkboard with images to show you how pretty it is, the fact is that these are all images I’ve saved off the internet and are the creative property of other people. And while I don’t feel guilty at saving them for my own use (it’s not like I could buy them anywhere) I don’t think I’m allowed to actually post them to my blog, either. Which is a crying shame, because I’ve got some gorgeous original art here. But, just imagine something gorgeous and lovely and pretend you can see it, okay?

ATTENTION! Windows users get cool stuff, too! *Scrivener for Windows is available in beta here.

10 Comments

Filed under Computers, Index Cards, Macs, Screenwriting, Scrivener, Software, Writing

10 responses to “Macs get all the cool stuff.

  1. aaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnddddddddd I officially hate you now.

    😉

    t

  2. I know you do. Alas, I shall learn to live with it.

  3. I too was looking for some sort of computer based card-sim program.

    A year or so ago I tried the demo to Scrivener and was just not much impressed– yeah, it *looks* great, and it’s got some of the features I wanted, but it just didn’t work the way I wanted.

    Then I found SuperNoteCard for Screenwriters, a cool commercial shareware program from Mindola Software:

    http://www.mindola.com/sncs/index.html

    It doesn’t look quite as fancy/fun as Scrivener, but it allows me to move cards, expand cards, assign all sorts of coding and tagging, imports from every program I work with, exports formatted text right into MMS (or FD, I would presume), and just plain works.

    The company seems pretty well run– they’ve already done three upgrades in the 8 or so months since I came onboard as a user, and the one time I needed support (a very weird and as yet never-duplicated loss of a file… annoying, but not life ending), they were helping me sort through the mess in just minutes via email.

    Free full functioning demo, Mac or Windows compatibility, and another cool point? 30 bucks, full version price.

    It’s made outlining fun again.

    ¢¢
    .
    .
    .
    B

  4. For simple outlining I still prefer paper cards. I like having them in my bag at all times to create potential scene cards every time I have an idea pop into my head. I like having them in my hands and pinning them on my board.

    I actually downloaded SuperNoteCard and some other demos at the same time I chose to go with paper instead.

    It’s the other functions of Scrivener that I like–right now, the image thing, but I can see other aspects that I’m going to like a lot.

  5. Daniel Landry

    Have you tried Celtx ( http://www.celtx.com )? It does everything Scrivener does, works on Mac, Windows, Linux, is available in a number of languages, and is free!

    It has a lot of cool features that promote collaboration.

    I’ve been using its index card lately and love the way it works with the script. There’s way too many features to list, so I’ll leave it to you to explore.

    My favorite function of Celtx is its project navigator, which allows me to sort out everything related to my projects. I can even add any type of files.

  6. That’s great to know. I can pass this along. Thanks!

  7. I love Scrivener — especially the full screen feature, and the snapshot thing is invaluable for revision. It’s the best.

  8. That’s good to know. Especially the snapshot thing. I don’t know what that is, so I need to figure that out.

  9. Pingback: More on Scrivener « planet pooks

  10. Pingback: Scrivener Clone for the Rest of You « planet pooks

Hit me with it.