WWW Wednesday 4-30-2014

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

 

• What are you currently reading?

Moonlight MistNow that the old Laura London Regency romances are coming out in Kindle and at very low prices, I am afraid I’m kind of raiding Amazon’s shelves for them. Right now I’m reading Moonlight Mist, which may not be everybody’s cuppa, but I’m enjoying it.  It shows its age because the older hero/younger heroine isn’t is evident in today’s romances, especially when the heroine is only seventeen and naive rather than independent and aware of her own agency. Our young lady Lynden is impetuous, a tomboy, reckless, and naive. So when she falls out of a tree and gets caught in a scandalous situation with one of England’s ‘treasures’ — a famous and beloved poet who also is wealthy and titled–and he offers his hand in marriage to save her from being ruined, it seems fun is in the wings, just happening to explode all over the page. Frankly, I’m not sure how on earth an erudite older guy [only his late twenties, not old enough to be her father or anything that extreme] is going to find anything in common with this girl who finds poetry and reading boring. [Those are the things her twin sister loves.] But Laura London has made unexpected pairings work before and I have faith in this one.
• What did you recently finish reading?

9780143035299_custom-991239c418229833549e5788a109158a5f24d031-s6-c30I recently finished The Best of Everything, by Rona Jaffe, as I mentioned here. It has been called the first Chick Lit, and is all about women fighting to find success love in a Mad Men world, written during that same time period by a “girl” who actually lived the life. It started off great. Set in a publishing house, we see how the secretarial pool can be the first rung on a ladder to being an editor and power figure in the industry. Oh my. The ending was less great, far less than great, but that’s just me.  Well, I don’t regret reading it, but am glad Peyton Place is next up because I am pretty sure I recall liking it a lot, and the reread should be fun.
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Peyton_Place_(first_edition_of_novel)I’m pretty sure Peyton Place will be on my list in May, since I did enjoy the time-bounce backward for an examination of the roots of Chick-Lit and Bestselling Women’s Fiction in The Best of Everything.

But I have a busy couple of weeks ahead of me since this weekend I’ll be at DFWCon and the second week in May I’ll be in New Orleans for the RT Booklovers Convention. I’ll be signing my brand new book <– click that link! at both places, and can’t wait!

The reviews coming in on Goodreads and Amazon make my heart sing!

 

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell us!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

4 responses to “WWW Wednesday 4-30-2014

  1. HapPy signings and event travels!
    WWW too =)

  2. denise

    reading a bunch of ARCs –I can’t share. Except one, but you wrote that one.

    Your cover of Peyton Place is different than mine (stolen from Mom)–maybe your copy is older?

    I know who Jaffe is, but never ready any. Not familiar with the Regency title by London–will check them out.

  3. Happy Reading! And I hope you enjoy the conference!

Hit me with it.

