WWW Wednesday 4-9-2014

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

Klasky-PerfectPitch200x300I’m about to start Mindy Klasky’s Perfect Pitch. It’s only .99, and is the first in a nine-book series that will all be published this baseball season! I have a lot more about them here, and am very excited to start reading them for myself.

Reigning beauty queen Samantha Winger is launching her pet project, a music program for kids. All she has to do is follow the pageant’s rules—no smoking, drinking, or “cavorting” in public.

That’s fine, until D.J. Thomas—God’s gift to baseball—throws her a wild pitch. He slams her in an interview, and the video goes viral. Sam’s no shrinking violet. She parlays D.J.’s apology into a national T.V. appearance—and a very unexpected, very public kiss.

And then things really get interesting…

• What did you recently finish reading?

612PynVz9bL._SL300_I just finished listening to Mary Jo Putney’s The Bargain, and what a delight it was.

Forced to wed to keep her inheritance, independent Lady Jocelyn Kendal finds an outrageous solution: she proposes marriage to Major David Lancaster, an officer dying from his Waterloo wounds. In return for making her his wife, she will provide for his governess sister. But after the bargain is struck and the marriage is made, the major makes a shocking, miraculous recovery. [Of course he does.] Though they agree to an annulment, such matters take time. . .time enough for David to realize he is irrevocably in love with his wife.

And that’s just the surface story. The backstory and the reason why Jocelyn is convinced she doesn’t want passion or a marriage [even though she’s more than eager to have an affair with a certain playboy Duke] is unexpected and believable. If you like historical romance, you’ll love this one. I mentioned before loving a new writer [to me, at least], Emma Newman, and her Split Worlds series.  Emma Newman was also the reader for Putney’s, The Bargain, and I love her voice and style.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

common demonimatorCommon Denominator by CE Wolff. I’m so excited about this one! It was written by one of my former students, and has some great reviews.

Art can be messy. Art can get your ear cut off. Art can be deadly. Jess Freeman sees the painting on the wall but best friend, Paul Noland, finds a work of art beyond exquisite. When Paul falls for a young museum curator, he puts himself and Jess in the middle of a forgery scheme that could kill them both.

Sounds fun, eh?

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

6 responses to “WWW Wednesday 4-9-2014

  1. denise

    currently reading 2 betas and an ARC, recently finished The Frog Prince and Second Chance Bride, lots on the TBR…

    • denise

      Amazon has a different cover for The Bargain! Looks like a good one.

      • Yes, they do. I used this one because it’s the one on the audiobook and I think it’s a nice one, but it’s different from the print/digital editions.

    • I admire people who can read so many ARCs, betas and such. My ability to read ‘to assignment’ is slim to none. My brain immediately protests and goes off to read something else!

      • denise

        Beta reading varies, for some, I’m looking for detail (really more of reading an ARC that’s in manuscript or uncorrected proof and giving feedback for errors), and for others it’s more about continuity, content for the publisher, storyline on a complete ARC–I don’t have to complete those, but I have to file a different kind of report (Q&A).

        You find out quickly what you like or don’t like.

      • denise

        **I do “copy editing” for some of the betas, because if I see an obvious error, I have to write it down. It’s the way my brain works.

Hit me with it.

