WWW Wednesday 3-26-2014

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

lady machinistI met the gorgeous and amazingly-adorned Ava Morgan at ConDFW last month. She was in steampunk garb every day, with an ability to carry it off that I admired and envied. To my delight, her book, The Lady Machinist, is turning out to be just as delightful.

Lydia Dimosthenis detests pirates, especially those of British ilk. The lady machinist will do anything to protect her island home of Aspasia from the scurvy knaves, even if it means crafting seven-foot clockwork soldiers to drive intruders away. When her automatons catch the eye of a charming yet stubborn ambassador from New Britannia, she is given an offer that she truly cannot refuse. But that doesn’t stop her from trying….

Give it a try. I’m enjoying the heck out of it.

• What did you recently finish reading?

CuckoosCallingCover

UK cover

I finally read The Cuckoo’s Calling by JK Rowling Robert Galbraith. And what a remarkable book. It’s so rich in texture and detail, and her ability to plot is shown to advantage in the mystery genre.

I ordered my copy from the UK back when the news first broke that Rowling had been outted as the author of a mystery that had been favorably reviewed but hadn’t had great sales. Now the inside back flap reveals that she is the author. People who bought the book before the reveal, before the cover used her name, now have collectors’ items.

US Cover

US Cover

I can’t wait for the next book and I’m sure it won’t sit on my shelf as long. I have all Rowling’s books in hardcover, all from the UK, and will continue that collection in my personal library. I have a thing about the original spellings and word usages before they’re Americanized, as you probably know if you’ve hung around planetpooks long. Plus in this case the cover is just much nice in the UK edition. The US leaves me a bit cold. I never would have picked it up just by the cover.

I do wonder that nobody has talked to her about her career trajectory. I mean, jumping genres constantly is never going to build her readership, or so I’ve heard. Just sayin.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

PatriciaBurroughs_ThisCrumblingPageant_800pxThere’s a good chance I’ll read the print ARC of an amazing dark epic fantasy I’ve been hearing a lot about, because it’s different seeing words in print, and I may make a few last second tweaks. Yes, it could happen. ARCs are available for reviewers now, just contact publicist at furytriad dot com.

 

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell us!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Building My Library, JK Rowling, Reading, Steampunk, The Fury Triad, This Crumbling Pageant, WWW Wednesday

3 responses to “WWW Wednesday 3-26-2014

  1. denise

    currently reading This Crumbling Pageant (am I allowed to say that) and It Takes Two to Tangle, next is Beauty’s Kiss, finished two historicals recently, plus an arc, and a stupid arc–horrible beta…

Hit me with it.

