WWW Wednesday 11-06-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

 

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

TCPmaxmedium

Not the real cover, just a placeholder until the real one is created, and omg I can’t wait.

See where it says KC Burroughs? That’s me playing around with the idea of publishing my fantasy series without ‘Patricia’ on the cover. But then it was pointed out to me that these days, the only writers who use initials only are women, and so that attempt to neuter the gender impact of an author’s name is ineffective. The only way to have a neuter-gender name is to choose a name that could be used either way. Aha! you might say. Pat Burroughs does that quite well!

Except I am not and never have been Pat, and the fact that so many people on their own, without ever having been told to, call me Pat, has always been a source of annoyance. So I would be using a name I don’t like for myself. So the heck with it, I guess I will remain Patricia, since my other attempts at coming up with a pseudonym met with less than enthusiastic response.

But that’s all digression. The fact is, I’m a big fat tease. I’m rereading This Crumbling Pageant because I’m now–finallly–writing the second book in the Triad, And the Dead Shall Live. Or The Dead Shall Live. Or Dead Shall Live. [Do you sense a lot of experimentation behind the scenes?] I am at that point where I haven’t sunk into the skins of these character I know and love so well, nor have I recaptured their language and their speech patterns. So it’s a bit of a slog and rereading is necessary. Thus my initial nanowrimo efforts are strained and slow, but at least I’m making progress.

Beyond that–I am so much in love with this world and these characters and my recent trip to the British Isles has filled me with inspiration, texture and detail for these books. Thank you Dallas weather for being damp and chilly since our return, which means I have brought of bit of the old countries with me, and can sink even more deeply into those worlds.

Don’t forget to sign up for my Fury Triad updates. Won’t spam you, promise! But there will be free stuff there that is available nowhere else. Just sayin’.

summer of great-grandmotherI’m also reading The Summer of the Great-Grandmother by the beloved Madeleine L’Engle. I’ve had this book for many years–it’s from my Embarrassment of Riches list. I won’t be reading it straight through, but each dip into it is something I truly enjoy. L’Engle had one of those kinds of lives I read about and envied, from the exotic [to me] childhood, to the big farmhouse where she raised her kids and spent the end of her life, when not living in NYC.

Reading her memoirs makes me ache for a different kind of life, sometimes, but that’s why I love reading. It allows me to experience many lives, many worlds.

And if the author name rings a bell but you don’t remember why, she’s the author of the classic A Wrinkle in Time and many other science fiction novels, young adult novels, adult novels, memoirs and such.

As a side note, one of the many, many things I love about being part of Book View Cafe is moments like the one where I mentioned my earlier inability to read this book because my own travails with elderly family members cut too quick to the bone and I couldn’t bring myself to read about someone else’s. And a BVC member responded that she was a friend of Madeleine’s and knew her during ‘the summer of the great-grandmother’ and went on to share some insights of that period. I can’t begin to list the ways my life has been enriched by this wonderful publishing cooperative of professional writers who let me into their midst.

• What did you recently finish reading?

The UK Cover. He is sitting down on the US cover. Also, I just found out this book is available in audio with him reading. Be still my soul!

The UK Cover. He is sitting down on the US cover. Also, I just found out this book is available in audio with him reading. Be still my soul!

I picked up The Fry Chronicles: An Autobiography at a used book store in Youghal, Ireland and started reading it and finished it on the flight home from Heathrow. I adore Stephen Fry. I can’t figure out how his autobiographies strike me so close to the heart and make me think, I know that feeling. I understand that feeling. When we are so different in gender, in sexuality–well, we both prefer men, so maybe not so different there? ahem–and background. He’s a brilliant writer as well as a very funny one, but he turns a brutal microscope on himself, which explains the front cover blurb on the UK edition I bought: “Heartbreaking, a delight. The Times.”  A heartbreaking delight, indeed. But I insist you read Moab Is My Washpot first, since it is the first of his autobiographies and precedes this one. [The title alone is enough reason to love this book.] Every time he refers to an experience from his early life in The Fry Chronicles, it makes me want to go back and reread Moab Is My Washpot. And then of course, this book ends on a cliffhanger with a capital C, which makes me yearn for the next.

Now, this is not what you expect from WWW Wednesday, but this is my blog and I am going to do it anyway. I was going to link to a youtube video of Stephen Fry for the uninitiated so they can see just a bit of what makes him such a beloved media figure in the UK but the first thing that popped up was–omg–Craig Ferguson explaining that Stephen Fry was going to be his only guest for the entire hour earlier this year, and people, if you think I am going to go write when there is 46 minutes of unseen [by me] Stephen Fry you don’t know Pooks.

So with that, I offer up this.

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Aaronovitch-PG4-BrokenHomes-Blog-e1370427347879And since I still haven’t received this book, I am going to repeat what I said last time I answered this question! Also, because it’s easy, and allows me to watch Stephen Fry sooner, and then get to writing like a good writer should have already done.

Smooch!

Color me bouncing and flailing, because I am going to get to read Broken Homes without ordering it from the UK! I was chosen to receive an advance copy through goodreads. Can’t wait!

I haven’t actually read any reviews–and don’t want to–because I don’t want any spoilers. But I did see this and read this much of it, which seems a good thing to share with you from Liz Bourke on the Tor site:

Broken Homes is the fourth instalment in Ben Aaronovitch’s bestselling Peter Grant series, after last year’s Whispers Under Ground. If you’re new to the joy that’s PC Peter Grant and the mysteries he investigates under the supervision of DCI Thomas Nightingale—England’s last officially practising wizard—Broken Homes is not the best place to start. Unlike Moon Over Soho or Whispers Under Ground, it doesn’t give you much time to get your feet under you before it starts setting up its dominos and knocking them down.

I don’t need time to get my feet under me. I just need the next episode of Peter Grant, which by the way will be real episodes soon, since it’s going to be a TV show.

Now that I've bought this old beauty I suppose I should also do a bit of research and determine its likely historical worth, as in, is this a respected writer of her day? How helpful will it actually be? All I know is that it's lovely, it feels good in my hands, I will read it, and I will love adding it to my personal library of keepers.

And I need to figure out why she spells Raleigh without the ‘i’ whilst I’m researching.

Finally, I’m slipping this bit of research reading into this blog entry because not only is it on my list of things to be read very soon, but it also fits today’s color scheme. Add to this that I bought this old book in Youghal, Ireland in the same old Elizabethan shop where I bought The Fry Chronicles, and I simply must share it–That Great Lucifer: A Portrait of Sir Walter Raleigh, by Margaret Irwin. This edition is from 1961; the book was originally published in 1960. I love this cover design, and the dust jacket is perfect. I picked it up for 7.50 euros, which might not be bargain, but it’s going to look great on my shelves, and as we’ve discussed before, I can be shallow that way.

Now that I’ve bought this old beauty I suppose I should also do a bit of research and determine its likely historical worth, as in, is this a respected writer of her day? How helpful will it actually be? All I know is that it’s lovely, it feels good in my hands, I will read it, and I will love adding it to my personal library of keepers.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Building My Library, Reading, WWW Wednesday

6 responses to “WWW Wednesday 11-06-2013

  1. I still have not read any Stephen Fry – I know I know. I will look up Moab soon, I swear. 🙂
    I also need to continue on Peter Grant’s journeys cause I have only read the first one! Ack. I have a lot of catching up to do!
    Good luck with your writing 🙂

    • Even though I am going to be receiving a free copy, I intended to buy Broken Homes in Ireland but never found it. I am not sure whether that is fortunate [for my bank account] or unfortunate [still waiting]!

  2. The L’Engle memoir sounds interesting–I remember really enjoying A Wrinkle In Time long ago, and I don’t typically enjoy science fiction or fantasy. May have to add this one to my ever-growing TBR list . . .

    • It’s the second of her memoirs, and very readable. I’m not a big one for memoirs and such, yet today I have two on my list. Welcome to planetpooks!

  3. Beautiful Blog.

    I don’t think I have ever visited. Love your side panels.

    I like the book The Summer of Great- Grandmother. I will need to check it out.

    ENJOY your reads.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  4. denise

    Finally catching up on some reading for pleasure…finished Beguiled!!! The Time Between is in the minivan, couple of books I’m reading on the kindle, and just cracked open another book on my nightstand. Crazy, I know.

    Give me a couple of days to finally post my review.

    I remember a discussion on the blog a year or more ago about possible names.

Hit me with it.

