WWW Wednesday 10-16-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

 

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

allclear_willisI’m now listening to All Clear, by Connie Willis. I don’t know how well these books would work for people who haven’t read the other Oxford Time Travel books, and for people who don’t have an interest in [or love for] World War II/London Blitz/valiant English citizens. But since I fit in all those categories, I am enjoying it. I am not sure why these books won all the awards they won, though.

cold steelOn my Kindle, I’m reading Cold Steel, the third and last book in the Spiritwalker Trilogy. I waited and waited for this to get published, bought it immediately, and then have let it languish on my Kindle. Why? I don’t know why I do that sometimes, not read something I’ve been dying to read. I have no excuse. But I’m making up for lost time now! I do love this world and these books, and if you like fantasy, you will, too. There is no better description than Kate Elliott’s own: “For the Spiritwalker project I wanted to write a multicultural world in which a mixing of cultures and people was the expected, the norm.”  And so she wrote,an Afro-Celtic post-Roman icepunk Regency fantasy adventure with airships, Phoenician spies, the intelligent descendents of troodons, and a dash of steampunk whose gas lamps can be easily doused by the touch of a powerful cold mage.”

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

willis_blackoutBlackout, the first half of All Clear [see above].  And I do see why some of my friends have said the two books should have been severely edited and sold as one book. Not that I didn’t like it, though. As an audiobook I found it to be a good thing to have going as I went about daily grind of driving places, walking places, and sometimes even–horrors!–doing housework.

Matchbox_WebI also finished reading Matchbox Girls, by Chrysoula Tzavelas. Complex world-building that reveals itself slowly–I like that. Twin girls that manage to be childlike and also superkids? Love that. And dogs! I love a book with dogs. Add a kickass heroine and characters and you have a good read. The end got a bit more complicated than my brain followed, but that’s probably because I was distracted at the time. Still enjoyed it a lot.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Aaronovitch-PG4-BrokenHomes-Blog-e1370427347879Color me bouncing and flailing, because I am going to get to read Broken Homes without ordering it from the UK!  I was chosen to receive an advance copy through goodreads. Can’t wait!

I haven’t actually read any reviews–and don’t want to–because I don’t want any spoilers. But I did see this and read this much of it, which seems a good thing to share with you from Liz Bourke on the Tor site:

Broken Homes is the fourth instalment in Ben Aaronovitch’s bestselling Peter Grant series, after last year’s Whispers Under Ground. If you’re new to the joy that’s PC Peter Grant and the mysteries he investigates under the supervision of DCI Thomas Nightingale—England’s last officially practising wizard—Broken Homes is not the best place to start. Unlike Moon Over Soho or Whispers Under Ground, it doesn’t give you much time to get your feet under you before it starts setting up its dominos and knocking them down.

I don’t need time to get my feet under me. I just need the next episode of Peter Grant, which by the way will be real episodes soon, since it’s going to be a TV show.

TCPmaxmedium

Not the real cover, just a placeholder until the real one is created, and omg I can’t wait.

 

Don’t forget to sign up for my new fantasy series updates. Won’t spam you, promise! But there will be free stuff there available nowhere else. Just sayin’.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

3 responses to “WWW Wednesday 10-16-2013

  1. I dont’ know how I did the blank comment, sorry bout that. Holy cow, your list of books are almost all on my TBR. I can’t wait to get my hands on the Kate Elliott books, they have only been on my radar a short time, but they sound amazing. Matchbox Girls sounds perfect as well (I must have seen it here but I LOVE the cover which was the initial grab and now your little descriptor makes me want it all the more. 🙂 AND LUCKY DOG getting Aaronovich’s new one. Can’t wait to read about it here. Enjoy 🙂

  2. denise

    I’ve finished everything I had been reading, now I have to decide what’s next on the TBR

Hit me with it.

