WWW Wednesday 10-09-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

 

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

willis_blackoutI’m still listening to Blackout, by Connie Willis. Yesterday I even took a walk to put more steps on my Fitbit [Site] and one thing led to another [dog bite, nuisance not injury] which resulted in me at the ER making sure I didn’t need any shots of various types but hey, it’s all good, I still had Blackout to listen to and was zoned out in my own world except when exposing my pitiful little bite wound for inspection, so all’s well that ends well.

Point being, Connie Willis kept me totally involved in WWII time travel goodness–that is actually a love letter to the everyday civilian heroes of England who kept calm and carried on–while while 21st Century life swirled around me. I call that a win!

• What did you recently finish reading?

TMMThis terrific anthology of short stories about monsters.  mentioned it last week, and today I am here to rave about it. Full disclaimer–Story Spring Publishing is my new publisher and this is their first publication, so yes, I was particularly vested in checking this one out. So if you think I’m going to hype it for those reasons, well, I understand that suspicion, but seriously, I am expert at hyping without raving.

This is a rave. I don’t read horror. I don’t read short stories except on rare occasions like this one, where I have a ‘reason’ beyond just pleasure.

Reading these short stories was pure pleasure. And I am not sure they all count as horror, or maybe I don’t know what horror is?

They all have monsters, real monsters, and yet some are funny and some are romantic love stories and some are truly chilling. A few take swipes at modern pop culture expectations. My favorites will not be your favorites. I know this from talking to other people who have different faves than mine.

What isn’t subjective is the quality of the writing, the world-building and the diversity in subject matter, voice and setting. Such diversity isn’t surprising as some of the stories are written by UK/European authors and are edited a la Oxford  [according to a note at the back of the book] and some are written by American authors and are edited a la Chicago Manual of Style.

But, in case you think I’m really just hyping? I read an excerpt from one of the stories to my class Monday night as an example of ‘the villain is the hero of his own story’ and yes, we all shared the chills. Just saying. The story is “Provender,” by Wendy Worthington, who should definitely know about the inside of a villain’s mind since she’s also an actress, the infamous “lunch lady” of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

You really need to read these stories!

• What do you think you’ll read next?

libriomancerLibriomancer. I’ve been reading Jim C Hines’s blog for years and am finally going to read one of his books and help pay his bills. Took a sneak peek at the opening and I’m already hooked. Will start it later today for real. What’s it about? A librarian in a world where libriomancy exists. What is that?

Isaac Vainio is a Libriomancer, a member of the secret organization founded five centuries ago by Johannes Gutenberg. Libriomancers are gifted with the ability to magically reach into books and draw forth objects. When Isaac is attacked by vampires that leaked from the pages of books into our world, he barely manages to escape. To his horror he discovers that vampires have been attacking other magic-users as well, and Gutenberg has been kidnapped.

With the help of a motorcycle-riding dryad who packs a pair of oak cudgels, Isaac finds himself hunting the unknown dark power that has been manipulating humans and vampires alike. And his search will uncover dangerous secrets about Libriomancy, Gutenberg, and the history of magic. . . .

Now, how cool is that?

TCPmaxmedium

Not the real cover, just a placeholder until the real one is created, and omg I can’t wait.

And don’t forget to sign up for my new fantasy series updates. Won’t spam you, promise! But there will be free stuff there available nowhere else. Just sayin’.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, Story Spring Publishing, WWW Wednesday

10 responses to “WWW Wednesday 10-09-2013

  1. Nice blog.

    ENJOY your reads.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. Thoroughly Modern Monsters sounds AWESOME!

  3. hmmm, monster short stories eh? Perfect month for it! And Libriomancer, I am so excited to hear what you think about it – it has been on my “pick this up” list for a while now. Sounds awesome! I don’t think I have signed up for your fantasy series update yet, gonna do that now. 🙂

    • I had no idea with Libriomancer was about until I finally nabbed this one. Now I can’t wait to read it! The vampires that show up causing trouble are Meyerii [I wonder if they sparkle]!

  4. Elizabeth Bennefeld

    I just finished reading Her Royal Spyness Solves Her First Case, by Rhys Bowen, a new-to-me author.

    I am currently reading Written in Red: a Novel of the Others (again), by Anne Bishop (upstairs) and L. E. Modesitt’s The One-Eyed Man, A Fugue, With Winds and Accompaniment (downstairs).

    Next on my list is The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress, by Robert Heinlein, which I haven’t read since the late sixties.

    • I love all the Royal Spyness books. They’re adorable!

      I’ve read Anne Bishop, but not that one. The only Heinlein I’ve read is Podkayne of Mars, which I loved as a kid, and was surprised at how well it held up when I went back a few years ago for a reread.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. denise

    I’m in the middle of three different books–I’ m trying too hard.

Hit me with it.

