WWW Wednesday 10-02-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

 

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

TMMRight now, I’m reading a terrific anthology of short stories about monsters. So far I’ve been with the Devil on a crossroads in Ireland, have revisited Forks with a put-upon vampire [who is not a vegetarian], and am now stalking Mr Big’s dinner, which is, erm, not at all what I want to eat. Eeek!

Currently #9 on the Amazon best selling fantasy anthology list!  If this sounds like your thing, go for it.

willis_blackoutI’m also listening to Blackout, by Connie Willis. I have loved all the Oxford Time Travel novels, and honestly have no excuse for not reading these last two sooner, and finally noticed that one of my favorite readers did the audiobooks so am now listening and enjoying. Will hopefully take a walk later when I have some of this writing stuff off my shoulders [behind! on! deadlines!] so I can listen to moar.

• What did you recently finish reading?

prince of midnightI revisited a classic from Laura Kinsale, as I mentioned last week.  The Prince of Midnight is another wonderful romance with highly unusual characters and richly drawn characterizations. Few people torture heroes like Kinsale does, and heroines, too. Not only that, but her prose is lyrical and rich and occasionally takes my breath away.


• What do you think you’ll read next?

Brennan_WritingFightScenesThis is still perched at the top of my TBR pile.

I’ve been waiting for this book, Writing Fight Scenes, ever since Marie Brennan announced its upcoming publication, and it’s available now!

In this guide, fantasy novelist Marie Brennan will show you how. Drawing on her experience with fencing, stage combat choreography, Okinawan martial arts, and above all writing, she lays out the components that turn the strikes into a compelling story.

TCPmaxmedium

Not the real cover, just a placeholder until the real one is created, and omg I can’t wait.

If you’re a writer, you may want this one, too.

And don’t forget to sign up for my new fantasy series updates. Won’t spam you, promise! But there will be free stuff there available nowhere else. Just sayin’.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

7 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

7 responses to “WWW Wednesday 10-02-2013

  1. denise

    I was late in posting last week–nothing changed.

    I like your pseudonym.

  2. All these books look interesting. Hope you enjoy and thanks for stopping by my WWW.

  3. Oooh I like the look of The Prince at Midnight…never read them.

  4. Beautiful blog.

    Blackout looks interesting.

    ENJOY your books.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

Hit me with it.

