Links and Recs Galore!

Today I’m sharing a wealth of reading deliciousness through recommendations from me and the hive mind of the series of tubes otherwise known as the internet! [That blast from the past never ceases to amuse me. Although that is probably the explanation you give to your great-grandpa who has no clue of what the internet is.]

In case you missed the big announcement, I made my debut last week as a ‘recognized’ SFF writer. Meaning, SF Signal asked me to participate in one of their Mind Melds, which means they recognized me as SFF, which means, I feel validated. [pauses for warm fuzzies] The question asked was:

ascensionQ: Who are your favorite female protagonists? What makes for a strong female protagonist, anyway?

I am not the only person whose TBR pile grew just from reading the answers other writers gave.  I may be [ahem, okay, I am] the only person whose link was to a bodice-ripper instead of an actual SFF story. But the Hugo Award winning John De Nardo and writer Paul Weimer know I have a fantasy series in the works so they included me. Thanks, guys!

Several books ended up on my Kindle, short story anthologies and novels, including Ascension: A Tangled Axon Novel. People who know me know that space ships are not my thing, so this ordinarily would not tempt me, but the characters and situation do, so I’ll give it a shot. Be forewarned that if it doesn’t ring my bell, that will have more to do with me not being the target readership than anything about the book itself.

 

Next up at bat–steampunk! I have voiced a mild [ahem] interest in the subject before. If you’ve been waiting to figure out whether you are interested or not, or just haven’t known where to begin, I suggest you mosey on over to Chuck‘s site and watch the recs grow over the next day or two. He opened up the gates and asked people to share their favorite steampunk novels, and again, my TBR list is growing. I’m also seeing lots of love for a couple of my favorite series, Leviathan: Leviathan; Behemoth; Goliath and The Parasol Protectorate Boxed Set: Soulless, Changeless, Blameless, Heartless and Timeless.

NotoriousA_200Klasky-SingleWitch200x300And finally–the gates are open for two of my recent reads and I’m delighted to recommend them to you. If you love historical romance you’ll love Notorious Atherton. If you love fun witchy contemporary romance, you’ll adore Single Witch’s Survival Guide.

What about you?

What books do you recommend this week?

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Reading, The Fury Triad, This Crumbling Pageant

2 responses to “Links and Recs Galore!

  1. I don’t think I’ve validated many people. 😉 But it was a pleasure to have you participate!

  2. denise

    Lake Como by Anita Hughes

Hit me with it.

