WWW Wednesday 08-14-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

And just in case you missed the newsflash… NEWSFLASH!!!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

heirs-cover1I’m listening to the newest Rhys Bowen Royal Spyness Mystery, Heirs and Graces. Because it seems the best way to introduce you to the series [or remind you of why I love it] I will share this about the first book, Her Royal Spyness:

Her ridiculously long name is Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, daughter to the Duke of Atholt and Rannoch. And she is flat broke. As the thirty-fourth in line for the throne, she has been taught only a few things, among them, the perfect curtsey. But when her brother cuts off her allowance, she leaves Scotland, and her fiancé Fish-Face, for London, where she has:

a) worked behind a cosmetics counter—and gotten sacked after five hours
b) started to fall for a quite unsuitable minor royal
c) made some money housekeeping (incognita, of course), and
d) been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son

Then an arrogant Frenchman, who wants her family’s 800-year-old estate for himself, winds up dead in her bathtub. Now her most important job is to clear her very long family name.

How can you resist? Audio or print, these are rollicking fun.

• What did you recently finish reading?

TSLP-full-coverThe Silver Linings Playbook, by Matthew Quick. See the movie first, then the things that are different won’t bother you. In fact, when I first started reading the book I thought the movie had taken a lot of liberties. Turns out, not so many after all. I give both the film and the book highest ratings. And I say that as a Dallas Cowboys fan, speaking of a book that is part-homage to the Philadelphia Eagles. so you know this is high praise, indeed. I’ll be reading a lot more Matthew Quick.

I finally finished reading and delighting in Timeless, by Gail Carriger. It was a wonderful conclusion to a delightful series. Both thumbs up, and my big toes, too!

• What do you think you’ll read next?

ascensionJust bought Ascension: A Tangled Axon Novel by Jacqueline Koyanagi. I found her choices in the Mind Meld at SF Signal fascinating, and next thing I knew, I was buying her book.

Alana Quick is the best damned sky surgeon in Heliodor City, but repairing starship engines barely pays the bills. When the desperate crew of a cargo vessel stops by her shipyard looking for her spiritually-advanced sister Nova, Alana stows away. Maybe her boldness will land her a long-term gig on the crew. But the Tangled Axon proves to be more than star-watching and plasma coils. The chief engineer thinks he’s a wolf. The pilot fades in and out of existence. The captain is all blond hair, boots, and ego… and Alana can’t keep her eyes off her. But there’s little time for romance: Nova’s in danger and someone will do anything – even destroying planets – to get their hands on her!

[I’m part of the Mind Meld today, too! Check it out if you love strong female protagonists in your books, and I know you do!]

Meet Cecil. At Amazon and Book View Cafe!

Meet Cecilia. At Amazon and Book View Cafe!

Don’t forget my new ebook, Beguiled Again. [Did you really think I could skip mentioning that?]

And just in case you did not already know this and did not follow the link to my NEWSFLASH above–I just landed a 3-BOOK CONTRACT for my new fantasy series!

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Reading, The Fury Triad, This Crumbling Pageant, WWW Wednesday

3 responses to “WWW Wednesday 08-14-2013

  1. I loved The Silver Linings Playbook! Happy reading! Heres my www http://wp.me/p32hC2-ja

  2. denise

    great picks

    on my so-called vacation last week–visiting parents and colleges–I managed to finish reading The Prayer Box (arc), Odd Mom Out, and Autumn Duchess .

    started Lake Como, and Beguiled Again is next on the tbr

Hit me with it.

