Embarrassment of Riches July 31, 2013

It’s time for July stats!

TBR-vignetteThe original blog meme is here, along with the links to the previous months’ check-ins.

What are you reading? Did you like it or not?

I’ll tell if you will!

Also, I’m building a mailing list for when I have a newsflash about books (and there are some upcoming, seriously, I am bursting with the news).

There is a REALLY REALLY BIG newsflash coming.

I am itchy with the wanting to tell of it.

It’s so close to being announced I’m about to break out in hives.

[wry smile]

All things come to those who wait, so it is said. I guess maybe we’ll find out!

 

7 Comments

Filed under Books, Embarrassment of Riches, Reading Challenges

7 responses to “Embarrassment of Riches July 31, 2013

  1. OOH! Love the new look! I almost went with this theme….they have TOO many templates!!!! Just changed mine up again.

    *squirrel*

    July was awesome for me! Love camping vacations. I read Walking Disaster — meh. Too much scary anger for my taste. (makes me want to sing “Where have all the good men gone and where are all the gods? Where’s the streetwise Hercules….” (haha, good luck getting THAT out of your head today)

    Went on a major NA spree out of the pile. Losing It – loved. Hopeless – ok… Damaged – loved. And read a bunch of samples that didn’t make the cut.

  2. denise

    not sure if anything changed from the last http://www…so behind–just trying to remain sane.

  3. June readings:
    It seems that I’ve missed a couple months of reporting. It probably has something to do with the fact that I was finishing up my schooling, which I can happily announce that I graduated Saturday, receiving my PhD. Since that dissertation was finished, I’ve been reading a lot! Here’s what I’ve read, am reading:
    * Finished 11/22/1963 by Stephen King. Most of it was a great read, but I was disappointed at the ending, which I can’t even tell what it was now!
    * Read Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz’s. While I loved the topic and was hooked right away, by the time I got to middle, I began losing interest. I was surprised at the end, however, so Koontz redeemed himself there.
    * Read Maureen O’Hara by (with) John Nicoletti. An older book, it’s an autobio written by O’Hara. I loved her movies, so I found this book interesting and a fun read.
    * Read Inferno by Dan Brown. Loved it!!!!!! Loved all the references to Dante. Brown does a lot of great research for his books.
    * Read Influencer: The Power to Change Anything by Kerry Patterson. Useful information.
    * Read Consciousness and Energy Vol 1 by Penny Kelly. LOVED IT!!! Have started reading Vol 2.
    * Reread Power vs Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior. LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It so describes and categorizes the population and the energy surrounding these populations. This is probably the one book that has helped me develop and grow my consciousness to a higher plane.
    * Read American Bloomsbury: Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret Fuller, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau: Their Lives, Their Loves by Susan Cheever. I loved this book, finding it extremely interesting how intertwined the lives of these authors were. Most particularly, I found it interesting to learn that Emerson supporting several of these authors.
    * Read A Shadow on the Crown by Patricia Bracewell, which is a wonderful novel about Queen Emma from Normandy who married England’s King Elthered, the Unready. I couldn’t put this book down at all!
    *How could I forget one of the best books of all!!! I’ve also read A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. I think I read this one in two days, it’s that good. And what do you know–it’s part of a series!

    For July:
    The Paleo Answer by Loren Cordain, Ph.D. Highly recommend!

    The Paleo Solution: The Original Human Diet by Robb Wolf. Highly recommend! Yup, I’m trying to find an eating lifestyle that will provide me with better health, better vitals, and this “diet” appears to be the one. I feel better, have more energy, am watching my blood pressure come down, am losing weight. I’m sold.

    Pray for Silence by Linda Castillo. Her third book in the series of Kate Burkholder as police chief in a small Amish community where she was once Amish. I wouldn’t be a bit surprised to find this series on TV soon, just like Robert Parker’s Jessie Stone series.

    5 Rules of Thought: How to Use the Power of Your Mind to Get What You Want by Mart T. Browne. Wow. Lots of common sense advice I’ve heard all my life and have spouted myself. This book is just a great reminder of why this way of thinking is important.

    • What an amazing list. I’m going to have to come back and take notes. I have not been in a self-improvement mode in awhile but you even mentioned a couple of titles in that vein that intrigue me. And American Bloomsbury… wow, so much great reading.

      Also, congrats on your Ph.D!

  4. Oops, should have proofed what I was “copying.” I graduated on June 29th, not Saturday. 🙂

Hit me with it.

