WWW Wednesday 7-17-2013

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

I’m reading a wonderful YA by Sherwood Smith. It’s not available for sale yet but will be later this month and I will definitely be linking to it.

I’m still reading and delighting in Timeless, by Gail Carriger. And I’m finally meeting the most adorable, destructive, ferocious toddler ever–Prudence. Why did I wait so long to read this delight? Thanks to all who let me know that her new YA series is totally separate from the Parasol Protectorate universe.

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

The most important thing I’ve read in a very long time was the Whatever entry by Mary Anne Mohanraj. I told Mary Anne I felt the need to blog about it and she encouraged me to do so, but since I haven’t had the time to address it properly yet, I will go ahead and mention it here.WritingTheOther In that entry she says of writing ‘the other’ — those who are different from us in ROAARS Race/Orientation/Ability/Age/Religion/Sex [as defined by Nisi Shawl and Cynthia Ward in Writing the Other] :

  1. You get to write whatever you want, including CoC (characters of color).
  2. You may worry about being criticized for your handling of race.
  3. PoC don’t have an obligation to teach you how to write CoC well and avoid criticism.
  4. Nonetheless, here are some suggestions on how to write CoC well.
  5. You will get it wrong. This is what you should do.

Reading that list and everything Mary Anne had to say about it was a punch in the gut, a punch to my fears of offending, of getting it wrong. It is terrifying and exhilarating and liberating. I suggest you read the article, and like I did, follow up on her other reading suggestions including the short book Writing the Other, available in paperback and for Kindle. It is going on my list of suggested reading for my classes and for anyone who recognizes a need for it.

Note: To anyone interested in more about writing the other, in this case transgender folk, check this out.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

cold steelCold Steel. Did I say that before? Well, I still mean it! The third and last book in the Spirit Walker trilogy: an Afro-Celtic post-Roman icepunk Regency fantasy adventure with airships, Phoenician spies, the intelligent descendents of troodons, and a dash of steampunk whose gas lamps can be easily doused by the touch of a powerful cold mage. How can you resist that? You can’t. The trilogy starts here.

Meet Cecil. Coming to Amazon and Book View Cafe July 17, 2013!

Meet Cecilia. At Amazon and Book View Cafe!

Don’t forget my new ebook, Beguiled Again. [Did you really think I could skip mentioning that?]

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

I’m keeping a running total of my reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Reading, WWW Wednesday

11 responses to “WWW Wednesday 7-17-2013

  1. I haven’t heard of the Spirit Walker Trilogy. It looks awesome. Here is my WWW http://cynthia2729.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/www-wednesdays-july-17/

  2. I’ve never heard of these books but they all sound so interesting! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Andrea K. @ Books and Bindings
    Waiting on Wednesdays
    WWW Wednesdays

  3. I am not familiar with any of these books but Beguiled Again looks intriguing. Here’s my WWW. Happy reading!

  4. denise

    Still reading Autumn Duchess. But, I had to pause to read Three Little Words for my team. I’m also trying to finish my friend’s book on Kindle, but the formatting is so bad, it makes it hard some of the time.

    Too many things on my TBR. Still need to get your book–expecting some Amazon $$ from a project any day.

    • That’s frustrating when the formatting is bad. I’m afraid I expect acceptable formatting if I have to pay for a book. Did she self-publish? I know it’s tough trying to handle all the technical details.

      • Denise

        I don’t think she self-published. I did get the book free from Amazon.

      • denise

        She created her own digital publisher and self-published. Now, I have to think of a kind way to tell her to fix the atrocious formatting. It’s that bad–I think she’d rather know the truth than have someone tear apart her book for the formatting in a review.

      • I’m surprised she hasn’t already been told. So my rec is yes, tell her in a ‘you may already know this but I thought I’d mention…’ kind of way. If she doesn’t know, she NEEDS to. If she’s heard it before, your comment will be gentle and not feel like piling on.

Hit me with it.

