Embarrassment of Riches TBR – June 30

Sorry I’m late. In case you missed the newsflash, there is a new grandbaby at the casa de pooks and things were upside down last week, but baby came home from hospital yesterday, yay!

It’s time for May stats!

TBR-vignetteThe original blog meme is here, along with the links to the previous months’ check-ins.

What are you reading? Did you like it or not?

I’ll tell if you will!

Also, I’m building a mailing list for when I have a newsflash about books (and there are some upcoming, seriously, I am bursting with the news).

And so I’m coming back a month later to add Mr Linky. Sorry about that!

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Embarrassment of Riches, Reading, Reading Challenges

5 responses to “Embarrassment of Riches TBR – June 30

  1. It seems that I’ve missed a couple months of reporting. It probably has something to do with the fact that I was finishing up my schooling, which I can happily announce that I graduated Saturday, receiving my PhD. Since that dissertation was finished, I’ve been reading a lot! Here’s what I’ve read, am reading:
    * Finished 11/22/1963 by Stephen King. Most of it was a great read, but I was disappointed at the ending, which I can’t even tell what it was now!
    * Read Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz’s. While I loved the topic and was hooked right away, by the time I got to middle, I began losing interest. I was surprised at the end, however, so Koontz redeemed himself there.
    * Read Maureen O’Hara by (with) John Nicoletti. An older book, it’s an autobio written by O’Hara. I loved her movies, so I found this book interesting and a fun read.
    * Read Inferno by Dan Brown. Loved it!!!!!! Loved all the references to Dante. Brown does a lot of great research for his books.
    * Read Influencer: The Power to Change Anything by Kerry Patterson. Useful information.
    * Read Consciousness and Energy Vol 1 by Penny Kelly. LOVED IT!!! Have started reading Vol 2.
    * Reread Power vs Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior. LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It so describes and categorizes the population and the energy surrounding these populations. This is probably the one book that has helped me develop and grow my consciousness to a higher plane.
    * Read American Bloomsbury: Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret Fuller, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau: Their Lives, Their Loves by Susan Cheever. I loved this book, finding it extremely interesting how intertwined the lives of these authors were. Most particularly, I found it interesting to learn that Emerson supporting several of these authors.
    * Read A Shadow on the Crown by Patricia Bracewell, which is a wonderful novel about Queen Emma from Normandy who married England’s King Elthered, the Unready. I couldn’t put this book down at all!
    * Reading A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. Now that I’ve watched 2 seasons of Game of Thrones, I feel better equipped to read a book that has dozens of characters! I love the show, so I’m confident that I’ll continue to find the book just as interesting.

  2. How could I forget one of the best books of all!!! I’ve also read
    * A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. I think I read this one in two days, it’s that good. And what do you know–it’s part of a series!

  3. Congratulations on the new grandbaby!

    I’ve completed my Platinum level commitment to the challenge. I’ve got my wrap-up post with full list of books read here: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2013/07/challenge-complete-embarrassment-of.html.

    Lot’s of good reading on the pile: Slippage by Harlan Ellison and A Private History of Awe by Scott Russell Sanders really stand out to me at the moment.

  4. Only one book in June for me:

    Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs

    http://darlenesbooknook.blogspot.ca/2013/06/audiobook-review-blood-bound-by.html

    That brings me up to #16 out of 24 for the challenge

  5. Denise

    I know I read at leat 2 complete books for June. Yes, slow month. I need to go back through the archives and tally the total sometime.

    Yay on the baby!

Hit me with it.

