WWW Wednesday 6-24-2013

Today would have been my mother’s birthday. It also appears that it will be my granddaughters birth day. i’m waiting for a call to go to the hospital. This will be short.

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

Meet Cecil. Coming to Amazon and Book View Cafe July 17, 2013!

Meet Cecil. Coming to Amazon and Book View Cafe July 17, 2013!

I’m reading my own book, Beguiled Again, doing last minute updates before sending it off for proofreading. This is the first time I’ve updated one of my old books. It’s complex and very detail-oriented which is not my strength, but it’s also kind of fun. Pop culture references have to change. The life touchstones of my characters has to change.  Cecilia and Jeff were now in high school in the age of the great divas (Whitney, Madonna, Mariah, and more) which totally enhances Cecilia’s own story as a singer who earns her living in the more mundane arenas of commercial jingles and singing covers for a band at conventions. Imagine her dreams growing up of being center stage like Madonna and ending up on the convention circuit. Do I think she’s disappointed? No. Actually, no and sincerely, no. She’s earning a living by singing, and she’s taking care of her three rowdy kids, and living life the way she wants. She’s happy. She certainly doesn’t need a man. And she certainly doesn’t need a man that her kids hate, that is the opposite of her in every way, that makes her feel less certain, that turns her life upside down. Because single moms don’t have time for love, nor do they have the right to love if it turns their families inside out. Do they? In case it’s not clear, this is kind of an Erma Bombeck/Doris Day love story with sex.

I didn’t intend to write about my own stuff here. Erm, okay, I did though, didn’t I?  Well, its what I’m reading. And I’m listening to Broken Harbor: A Novel (Dublin Murder Squad) by Tana French. Good book so far, as hers always are.

• What did you recently finish reading?

The Single Witch’s Survival Guide which is the fourth book in Minky Klasky’s  Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft (Jane Madison Series).

It’s adorable. It’s fun. It’s smart. And here are the other things you need to know. You can’t read it yet, nyah, nyah, nyah! /taunt  (ahem) I’m a beta reader which means I get to read it before it’s published. You can read it soon, though. But more importantly, book four, right?  First book in a trilogy where Jane Madison starts an academy for witches. ADULT witches. i hadn’t read the earlier books, and guess what, it didn’t matter. It is a delightful story that works great as it is even though I hadn’t read the other books.  Even better news, I now intend to go back and read the earlier books, beginning with Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft. Oh wait, put that in the wrong place.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Among other things, Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft (Jane Madison Series). 🙂 I still am having problems with my keyboard, haven’t had time to fix it, so can’t post a new picture here. Go see the fun covers of these books on Mindy’s site here.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: CECILIA’S PICTURE ON THE COVER  Love it? Hate it? Meh? You won’t hurt my feelings. I’m curious about her, since I’m told she isn’t a typical romance cover girl.

I’m keeping a running total of my reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Guest Posts, Reading, WWW Wednesday

2 responses to “WWW Wednesday 6-24-2013

  1. How exciting! Congratulations on your new grand baby 🙂
    Cecilia has that wild hair, so she looks like a clubber or a wild woman which is ok but she gives a demure look so who knows what the story is about 🙂 Makes me want to find out.
    I read the first dublin murder book but haven’t gotten back into the series. I might have to get back into those…

  2. Congrats on the new cover! She is different than the average “cover girl,” which I like very much.
    My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/www-wednesday-june-6-2/.

Hit me with it.

