Harvest Monday 6-3-2012

See what gardeners are harvesting around the world at daphne’s dandelions. Add your pictures, too, if you have some!

I think I just accidentally trashed the harvest monday report from 5-27. Ooops. Can’t find it now. If I do, I’ll add it back.

Did I say ooops?

Well, okay. Moving right along…

Yes, I have been gardening, even though I haven’t reported in.  For the record, this is a very small colander. See the size of the green beans? And they aren’t large ones. I am thrilled to have this one. It’s a great size for a lot of things. I’m also slowly getting rid of anything not metal. I don’t trust plastics and silicones, no matter how safe they supposedly are. Glass, stainless steel–those things I trust.

provider beans 5-29-2013 About half ended up sauteed for lunch Sunday, 6-2. Yum.

provider beans 5-29-2013
About half ended up sauteed for lunch Sunday, 6-2. Yum.

 

carrots 5-30-2013 The dragon carrots (red) are gorgeous! Small round-ish ones are Paris market. I can't remember what the plain orange are.

carrots 5-30-2013
The dragon carrots (red) are gorgeous! Small round-ish ones are Paris market. I can’t remember what the plain orange are.

 

second tomato--I don't count them really because I bought this vine with green tomatoes already on it. seems like cheating. still tastes good!

second tomato–I don’t count them really because I bought this vine with green tomatoes already on it. seems like cheating. still tastes good!

 

Japanese eggplant 6-2-2013 marinated and grilled, but wasn't too please with the results. anybody got a good recipe?

Japanese eggplant 6-2-2013
marinated and grilled, but wasn’t too please with the results. anybody got a good recipe?

I'm particularly pleased with this female squash. Tiny, as you can tell, since this was the day it bloomed. but here's the thing. it was the first bloom on this vine--female! fortunately I had a lot of males blooming on other plants so was able to fertilize it. I may pick it tomorrow.

I’m particularly pleased with this female squash. Tiny, as you can tell, since this was the day it bloomed. but here’s the thing. it was the first bloom on this vine–female! fortunately I had a lot of males blooming on other plants so was able to fertilize it. I may pick it tomorrow. It’s also the only squash I have growing right now.

Great harvest already. Don’t expect any more beans for awhile, since I picked almost all of them and now I have to wait for more. But hopefully the squash will start coming, and more eggplant, tomatoes and… lots of stuff.


Sign up here to know when new books are available and free stuff is being given away.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Garden, Monday Harvest, Square Foot Gardening

3 responses to “Harvest Monday 6-3-2012

  1. Yum! My garden is still working, though I just picked a bunch of apricots and loquats this weekend, my tomatoes are taking their sweet time! 🙂

  2. Oh to be harvesting fresh green beans right now! We are in a sea of lettuces and other greens at the moment, and sautéed or steamed green beans sounds like such a nice alternative to our endless salads menu.

  3. Denise

    Lovely yummy goodness.

Hit me with it.

