Harvest Monday 3-11-13

I only harvested a handful of broc-bits and itsy bitsy carrots this week. Oh yeah, some salad greens. I know this is boring to hear or read people say again and again, but dang! It’s unbelievable how good various greens taste raw when they’re fresh out of the garden. Toss in some finely chopped fresh herbs and it’s scrumptious.

But you know that.

Sad, pitiful broc plant.

Sad, pitiful broc plant.

I have a really sad broc that has been eaten by something and I keep thinking I should trash it, but I keep getting little broclets from it. So I get my handful or more of brocs from it and then leave it. I’ll pull it out when I have something else to put in the fabric pot, I guess.

Happy broccoli.

Happy broccoli.

Oh, and because that’s not only sad but also embarrassing? Let me show you the broccoli that’s not sad and pitiful.

Broc bits.

Broc bits.

Because you came to see pictures of the actual harvest, I have this bad picture of broccoli-bits in my hand. I was holding the iPod with one hand and broccoli in the other so yeah, not so focused.

Can you spot the tomato?

Can you spot the tomato?

Oh, and I mentioned carrots, didn’t I? Okay, I have this big pot that I planted carrot seeds in last fall without thinning them out. They were small and scraggly as you can guess.  I have pretty much thinned them now and am letting the remaining ones grow until they get bigger. In the meantime, yesterday I planted a tomato plant in the middle of the carrots on the assumption that they will be long gone before that tomato is big enough for it to be a problem. But I did have to pull some bitty carrots out of the middle to make room.

And finally, the bits of broc and carrot along with some cabbage and shallots cooked in butter until crunchy. Not a lot but it was yummy.

bits of veg

I’m going to take advantage of the fact that you clicked through by asking questions and hoping to get answers!

In my dream of backyard “farming” (three square-foot raised beds) I needed a small freezer to hold all the excess squash I’d be unable to even give away, and loving all that wonderful squash during the winter.  Well, I only got enough for us to enjoy some very nice meals, but no extra to give away or freeze. Hopefully this year will go better.

Excalibur_Dehydrator_3500B__92594.1300828297.1280.1280I also have this dream of needing a Excalibur 3500B 5 Tray Deluxe Dehydrator.

But I don’t eat much (if any) dried food and am not sure if I will get enough of any kind of appropriate harvest to use it or actually eat whatever dried stuff I end up with and so fear it would be a waste of money and (possibly worse) space. Do you have a dehydrator? Do you use it?

The garden today (Saturday, March 9, 2013)

The garden on Saturday, March 9, 2013

As always, you can see more harvests from around the world by checking out the others hosted at daphne’s dandelions.

11 Comments

Filed under Garden, Monday Harvest, Square Foot Gardening

11 responses to “Harvest Monday 3-11-13

  1. Check your “sad” broccoli for cabbage worms.

  2. Since you found no worms try slugs – maybe a little bowl of beer? Those suckers (Pun inteded) are slippery indeed! I can’t tell you how many times my chickens found them when I could not. As for the dehydrator – no I have a convection oven (recently) and am learning the joys of using it instead. 🙂

    • I may not have looked hard enough to find the worms. I think I’d better give it another shot. Thanks for the advice about the slugs, though. I think it has been too cold for them but I could be wrong.

  3. Sometimes the worms are hard to find but you will find their poop. You can catch the worms early in the morning when it is still dark, but the best way for me has been to use Bt. I don’t have a dehydrator but I have thought about it. Like you, I don’t think I’ll use it enough to justify buying one.

  4. Stalwart broccoli plant, still producing despite all! I’ve that very dehydrator — it’s too humid here in Maine not to have one. I use it mostly for drying herbs and tomatoes, an occasional vegetable as an experiment. Right now I have a batch of Delicata squash I’m testing out. Con: It’s somewhat noisy and I have to run it in a separate room, the sound of it running for hours on end can be distracting… I recommend borrowing one to try out before purchasing — they do take up a lot of real estate!

    • The noise would be an issue for my husband. Things like that annoy him a lot. The good news is, I can wait until I have produce coming out of my ears and really have a use for it before I buy it! Thanks for that feedback. Very helpful.

  5. I have a dehydrator, not as fancy as the excalibur, but it works. Although I used my oven to dry tomatoes, peppers, and zucchini last year and never brought out the dehydrator.

  6. I managed for decades with only the freezer on my fridge and the garden has always been >500 sq. ft. Though now that I’m growing about 1,500 sq.ft. I have a freezer. I found a dehydrator at a tag sale & tried it for cherry tomatoes. But I much prefer the taste of oven roasted cherry tomatoes. My herbs go into the freezer.

Hit me with it.

