WWW Wednesday 2-27-13

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

marigold hotelTwo books showed up from the library and so I need to read them next. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach. I haven’t gotten very far into it but I like it so far. I have to admit the elderly father-in-law is really, really (often intentionally) disgusting and I wouldn’t be pleased about him living in my house, either, so I feel sorry for poor Ravi and totally understand why he’s about to help create a place for the elderly to live just so he can unload the old coot. I wonder who plays the role of the old perv in the movie. Must look that up…

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

No cover yet, alas, but I finished The Notorious Atherton  by Patricia Rice. You have to wait until July to read it. I loved it, and now I need to put together the few tweaky little notes I have and return it to her. But even though you can’t read it today, you can read the two books in the Rebellious Sons series that came before it, starting with The The Wicked Wyckerly and following up with The Devilish Montague. I loved Atherton’s story. There were so many fun touches. I think my favorite scene is when all the women in two families decide to arm themselves and practice shooting at targets in case they need to defend the princess, and poor Atherton can only supervise and hope no bullets go wild. Bonnets, parasols and bullets, oh my! (They were very good shots.)

agatha-raisin-mysteries_the-case-of-the-curious-curate_ebook_us_largeI also listened to Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate, the thirteenth in that series. I first listened to it several years ago but honestly didn’t remember anything about it so it was mindless fun to return to.

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

eleven pipersProbably Eleven Pipers Piping: A Father Christmas Mystery by C C Benison since it’s a library book and the clock is ticking.

I’m keeping a running total of my reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge. The January wrap-up is here and I’ll post a February wrap-up tomorrow night so it will be ready for those of you who are part of that challenge to log in on the 28th!

Paisely Vandermeir requests the pleasure of your presence.

 

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday 2-27-13

  1. Hi Pooks,

    I really like the sound of your current read, ‘The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel’. Whilst I have come across the author’s name on many occasions, I have never actually read any of her work. Similarly, whilst I am a fan of Judi Dench, who apparently was in the film, I have never watched it to find out for myself.

    I think that the scenario that Ravi has with his father-in-law, is one that will resonate with families all over the world, although perhaps not all our elderly relatives set out to make life so difficult or disgusting, although maybe difficult is a relative term?

    Thanks for sharing your eclectic mix of reading material and I hope that you enjoy it all.

    Yvonne

  2. I’m so glad to meet you through the WWW meme. I’ve been wanting to read the Marigold Hotel, haven’t seen the movie but the trailer interested me and I thought I’d like to read the book. Need to add it to my list now.

    Thanks for sharing your list. 🙂

  3. For some reason – I feel like watching the Marigold Hotel before I read the book – very unusual for me! Agatha Raisin – her name had me in splits! Always nice to read about yet another crime series…they seem to have become ubiquitous!

    Am enjoying Gone Girl at the moment and looking forward to Harold Fry next!

    • Gone Girl just showed up at the library for me to download. I’ve been on that waiting list for a long time. But I don’t have time to read it! Oh, the decisions a girl has to make… Thanks for stopping by!

  4. DENISE

    Finished an ebook, currently reading Scottish Witch, have a Jana DeLeon on kindle tbr and 2012 book I started

Hit me with it.

