WWW Wednesday 2-13-14

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

bridemostbegrudgingToday I started a new book because I’m lazy. Every time somebody mentions reading Christian romance on their WWW list I want to say, “Are they any better than they used to be?” but how rude is that? The same could be asked about any genre one doesn’t read, if one doesn’t mind being insulting. I certainly understand that the reasons people have for liking Christian romance aren’t that different from the reasons one might like fantasy or mystery. It’s a story form that you like. The promise made from author to reader is reliable. “You will get your mystery solved and the killers will not go free.” “You will get your happy ending and the couple will be together.” “You will…” Ah, that’s the problem. What I don’t know about Christian romance is what promises the author makes to the reader.

I guess I’m going to find out. The Big Nerd mentioned Random Reads and for fun I put my Goodreads TBR pile through the randomizer and A Bride Most Begrudging popped up. This has been on my Kindle for a long time. I got it free somehow but just haven’t been in the mood to give it a try. One reviewer says, “A dazzling debut novel….an inspirational tale that truly inspires rather than preaches at the reader… ”  I’m guess I’m going to find out, and I won’t have to ask others what the current state of the Christian romance is. This is a two-fer. It will count as Historical Reading Challenge and my EORTBR, too!

Speaking-From-Among-the-Bones-2796046I’m listening to Speaking from Among the Bones: A Flavia de Luce Novel, the newest in the series. How I love this girl and her passion for poisons and death (unless it’s a chicken about to be someone’s dinner). So happy to have this to listen to.

I mentioned the cool old edition of The House of the Seven Gables I have awhile back. I am not reading it a chapter a day or even at all. Not because it’s boring, but because I keep starting other things instead. But it’s in the mix.

• What did you recently finish reading?

11-22-63I finished reading 11/22/63: A Novel by Stephen King. I can tell from his notes afterward that he did a hell of a lot of research and I respect that. I’m sorry to say that the anachronisms about life in Dallas and in Texas in 60-63 were a distraction for me, and there were a lot of them. But he’s such an amazing storyteller and this is topnotch entertainment. Just know that plenty of people who lived through those times in Dallas saw things quite differently than he did, and a lot of his details were outright wrong.

Still. Read it. You’ll be glad you did.

 

I also listened to a historical romance that I’m not going to name. I’ve given it a lot of thought and I just found it to be so weak, so shockingly weak, and from a writer I’ve loved in the past, and I just am not comfortable giving that kind of review, so I won’t. I’ll state the issues, though. Hero and heroine kept apart by a misunderstanding. A stupid one, at that. And later, stay at cross-purposes by creating new misunderstandings that only a writer’s extreme manipulation could make work, and then only if you allow that the hero and heroine in question must be very stupid. Yeah, that.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m about to beta a Regency romance, The Notorious Atherton, for the amazing Patricia Rice. Can’t wait to get started on that! You have to wait until July to read it. I get to read it now. Me, taunting? You bet!

I’m keeping a running total of my reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge. The January wrap-up is here and I’ll post a February wrap-up on the 28th, in which I’ll ask everybody who is participating to respond with their current numbers in comments.

$20 Amazon Gift Certificate to one lucky Amazon reviewer!

And I have to remind you–it’s the last 24 hours! The chance for you to win a $20 Amazon Gift Certificate for leaving an Amazon review of Scandalous (available at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo) before midnight, February 14. Details here.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Reading, Scandalous, WWW Wednesday

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday 2-13-14

  1. I haven’t tried those Alan Bradley books yet. I should pick on up. I am looking forward to your comments on Bride and CF. I don’t read any of that stuff, or if I do it is totally random.
    My review is on amazon! So…I guess I am in the running 🙂 yay.
    I think I only have read one of my TBR riches books – eek! How does that happen? (she asks knowing full well how it happens, but still)
    I keep telling myself to pick up a King novel…I haven’t yet, at least recently. Soon…
    Anyway, happy reading!!

    • Well, I do have comments on Bride and CF and am about to write them up now. I think MISERY is the best King novel I’ve read, but that may be because I’m a writer and I totally connected with what he went through.

  2. I’ve wondered about that Stephen King title and whether or not I’d like it. My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/www-wednesday-feb-13/.

    • The King book is really good. As a Dallas-native who lived through that day at 10 years old, I felt particularly interested, but it was about a lot more than “that day” or even “that event,” when all is said and done.

  3. DENISE

    I finished THE GIFT. Knocked it off last year’s tbr pile. Main character not likable. At all. His “atonement” didn’t feel redeeming to me. I wanted to like the book, but I couldn’t.

    • Atonement only works when you care. Otherwise I might feel a tad bitchy about it all. “Oh right, go ahead and feel bad and atone but I still think you’re a twit.”

      • DENISE

        So true. Thanks for reminding me. He remained an arse to the end. And, the sub plot in the book was useless. And stupid. I think she was trying to write a modern moral or liken it to IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE, unfortunately, she failed. Is that too harsh?

        I expected a better story since the author’s first novel was made into a major motion picture.

      • Well honest opinions are just that, honest opinions. Our truth may seem harsh, and others will have loved it. So there ya go!

Hit me with it.

