Embarrassment of Riches Challenge – January 31st Check-In

I’m doing a quick WWW Wednesday and leaving this post so that everyone can post their January “Embarrassment of Riches” stats!

Okay, my WWW is:

Reading: A Crown of Lights (Merrily Watkins 3) by Phil Rickman and 11/22/63: A Novel by Stephen King and The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne. (I barely started it and actually liked it, but have been spending all my time reading Stephen King, first. So much for my “chapter a day” idea.)

Finished reading: Midwinter of the Spirit (Merrily Watkins 2) by Phil Rickman and Blackwood (Strange Chemistry)  by Gwenda Bond.

Reading next: Something from the TBR list.

The best part of the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge is that it makes reading books I really want to read feel like I’m doing something “worthy.” (That’s not the right word, is it? I’m groping for the word here… ETA: WORTHWHILE. I was so close.)

 

ECRTBR January reads:

Twelve Drummers Drumming. 1/4/13 Contemporary cozy mystery I liked despite an annoying habit of author to cut away when something important is revealed or about to happen and start the next chapter later, and backtrack to let us know what we missed. Yes, that. And still liked the book. (ebook)

Between the Devil and Desire. 1/4/13 Historical romance I liked. You should definitely read the first in series before this one, but this one has the Artful Dodger as hero.  (audiobook)

Unraveled. 1/10/13 Story is fascinating and relationship between intense, and I am seeing why I keep finding Milan’s name on lists of favorite romance authors. (audiobook)

Votes for Vixens. 1/15/13 Sympathetic characters dealing with emotional and physical trauma, rich detail, and an unpredictable plot made it worth the while.  (ebook)

Blackwood (Strange Chemistry). Twisty plot, high-concept idea, solid YA paranormal. I likey.  (ebook)

The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle. A free gift from audible, Sherlock Holmes narrated by Alan Cumming. Wonderful.

My goal is silver, and I’ve now read 6 out of 24.  I think I may switch to platinum at this rate.

Kindle Samples:

The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo. (Verdict, love what I read and will definitely BUY.)

My goal is platinum and I’ve now read 1 out of 50. (Ooops!)

Post your January stats in comments. Link back to your blog or goodreads or anywhere else you have it, if you want!

Leave your stats in comments, and/or use Mr Linky to link to your stats and reviews!

26 Comments

Filed under Books, Embarrassment of Riches, Reading, Reading Challenges, Review, WWW Wednesday

26 responses to “Embarrassment of Riches Challenge – January 31st Check-In

  1. A TURN OF LIGHT by Julie Czerneda. Yes, only one book. In my defense, it was 800+ pages!

  2. A lot of other challenges put up a linky so participants can add their reviews. I did that for the challenge I’m hosting. If you use Mr Linky I think you need to upgrade one level ($5 I think it was) so you can have more than one Linky up on your blog at a time (i.e. also on your sign-up post and subsequent montly link-up posts). I didn’t really want to do a pay service, but I really think it’s helpful for keeping a challenge organized and helping people navigate to other participant’s reviews.

  3. Lauri

    My WWW:
    Reading – Creole Belle – James Lee Burke (book)
    A Feast for Crows – George R.R. Martin (cd)
    Finished Reading: Hot Mama – Jennifer Eastep
    To Read Next: Naamah’s Kiss – Jacqueline Carey – because I finally got Naamah’s Blessing (third in the trilogy) so I want to go back and read the other two first
    I’ve given up on my TBR challenge… I didn’t have a big enough pile because I read so much.

  4. denise

    I went back and finished 2 print books and 1 ebook from 2012 TBR pile.

  5. Great job on your print TBR! I am about the same, I read 7 books from my print TBR and 1 kindle book – yay! I am going for 50 print, so I am getting there, but I really need to work on the kindle. But with bookclub picking books I don’t own, and authors requesting reviews…wah wah wah!
    I agree, this challenge makes reading books from my TBR an accomplishment and I feel like I am getting things done! Woo

  6. Read: Versailles by Kathryn Davis – interesting writing from Marie Antoinette’s POV
    Reading: 11/22/1963 by Stephen King – WOW is this ever good and I’m not that far into it!

  7. Read: Death Warmed over by Kevin J Anderson, A zombie PI solving his own murder
    Reading: Hero with a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell, the only nonfiction book on my list, and its taking me longer than anticipated to get through it.
    Reading: 1634: The Baltic War by Eric Flint and David Weber

  8. I read.. a lot of books but only 7 could be counted for this one :). Also, I didn’t count re-reads. *g*

  9. Kit Kerr

    I’m late for the check in but I actually read 3 TBR books last month! Of course, I picked the thinnest ones . . .

    THE BARBARIAN PLAIN by Elizabeth Fowden
    428 AD, An ordinary year at the end of the Roman Empire, by Giusto Traina
    THE BLACK SEA, A history, by Charles King

  10. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 2-13-14 | planetpooks.com

  11. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 2-20-13 | planetpooks.com

  12. Pingback: Embarrassment of Riches Challenge – February Check-In | planetpooks.com

  13. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 3-13-13 | planetpooks.com

  14. Pingback: Embarrassment of Riches TBR – March 31st Check-In | planetpooks.com

  15. Pingback: Embarrassment of Riches TBR Reading Challenge 2013 | planetpooks.com

  16. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 4-3-13 | planetpooks.com

  17. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 5-1-2013 | planetpooks.com

  18. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 5-15-2013 Guest Post from Stephen Piziks | planetpooks.com

  19. Hello from central Canada!

    I’m in a great plethora of circles. If some didn’t have a review page at my earliest check, it’s taken months to make rounds again. It’s my pleasure to link 10 novels under ‘January’. I hope folks still find them. I’ll divvy my reviews under each heading. Sincerely, Carolyn.

  20. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 6-24-2013 | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

