WWW Wednesday (1-16-13)

WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

The House of the Seven Gables
by Nathaniel Hawthorne

I mentioned the cool old edition of The House of the Seven Gables I have last week. It’s now by my bedside and I am reading it. Whether I read a chapter nightly, or a chapter now and then, or drink it down like ice water on a scorching day remains to be seen. But it’s in the mix.

And thank you, for helping me recognize that good illustrations and craftmanship are valid reasons to keep a book, even if the story ends up not being a fave.

 

I’m absolutely thrilled to finally be reading Blackwood (Strange Chemistry) by Gwenda Bond, even if there is a snake on the cover. I met Gwenda in Max‘s workshop lo these many years ago, and she was just beginning Blackwood at the time. And now it’s a real book in print and epub and I don’t know why it has taken me so long to read it, but I’m truly excited. By the way, MTV is developing it for tv. What happened to the Lost Colony of Roanoake, Virginia? Can you say… supernatural? YA, this one.

Aaaand… I also started 11/22/63: A Novel by Stephen King and am listening to Surrender to the Devil by Lorraine Heath, another of the Fagin’s Lads romances inspired by Oliver Twist. Too many books at one time? Probably!

• What did you recently finish reading?

I finished reading the ARC, The Cornerstone, by Anne C Petty, a  contemporary staging of Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe which revisits the events that read to the writing of the play–when Dr Dee sells his soul to the devil in order to gain his heart’s desire. I hope this author writes a book set in Elizabethan times eventually, because these were the most compelling parts of the book to me, written with the most verve and energy and detail, making me smell the stench and see the world. A strange mix of history and horror and contemporary Atlanta, Georgia.

 

For my listening pleasure, Unraveled by Courtney Milan. This was a richly painted story with a young heroine raised by her parents–actors–who lives precariously in London’s underworld and an emotionally uninvolved hero who is a magistrate determined to bring justice to those same streets. Fascinating story, and the relationship between them intense and emotional. I understand now why I keep finding Milan’s name on lists of favorite romance authors. I will be looking for more of her books, because this one certainly worked for me.

 

 

I rarely read novellas and wasn’t sure what to expect when I started Votes for Vixens. I knew it was a subject I’m interested in–women’s suffrage–and a love story between two young women caught up in the movement. I knew there would be sex. But from the opening scene, it went places I didn’t expect. This story doesn’t follow a predictable path and that is one of the reasons I enjoyed it so much, despite some historical anomalies that distracted me. For the record, the important aspects of the story–the women’s fight for the vote, the march on the New York Opera House–are all true. It was some dialogue/language and clothing details from later in the decade that didn’t quite mesh with the 1919/1920 setting.

I’m glad I didn’t know ahead of time about those things, because they might have stopped me from reading this book, and that would have been a shame. Sympathetic characters dealing with emotional and physical trauma, rich detail, and an unpredictable plot made it worth the while.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Will I finally read the last of the Lymond books? Can I bear to know there are no more? Time will tell.

I’m keeping a running total of my reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge –and will post a January wrap-up on those on the 31st, in which I’ll ask everybody who is participating to respond with their current numbers in comments.

$20 Amazon Gift Certificate to one lucky Amazon reviewer!

And I have to remind you–it’s here! The chance for you to win a $20 Amazon Gift Certificate for leaving an Amazon review of Scandalous (available at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo) before February 14. Details here.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, Reading Challenges, WWW Wednesday

9 responses to “WWW Wednesday (1-16-13)

  1. Tons of books this week! Dang. Cornerstone sounds amazing and Blackwood sounds like something I will have to find and read as well.
    To answer your question – If I love an ebook I will end up owning the hardcover (if it is available) – just the way I roll, but I am trying really hard to not hoard so many books! It is hard though when love is involved 🙂

    • Since I’m only hoarding the ones that are special to me, I’ve eliminated most of my piles and boxes and shelves and cases of books. But I still have a lot!

  2. Reading: King’s Blood, Daniel Abraham
    Just Read: Balfour and Meriwether in Two Adventures Daniel Abraham
    What will I read next? Not really thought about it, absorbed with what I have

  3. Interesting books. I have heard great things about Blackwood, will have to check it out. Unraveled sounds great too, will have to look into that one also. Thank you for stopping by and sharing.

    Katie ~ Turner’s Antics

  4. Denise

    reading AFTER THE RAIN by Karen White…

  5. Wow you have no shortage of books on the read and listen right now. I admire you that :). Blackwood sounds really good although the snake on the cover gives me the skeevies LOL I do not like snakes no I do not.

    Always good to find out some stuff that is outside of my usual drift towards Historical Fictions..Thank you for stopping by my blog too 🙂

  6. Oh, Blackwood sounds interesting, I love strange historical musings and the Roanoke colony is definitely one of those things 😀

  7. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (01-23-13) | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

