Harvest Monday (1-14-13)

I’m going to attempt to put a harvest/garden report up at least once a month until I actually have “real” harvests. We have carrots and herbs and radishes that can be pulled one here, one there, and I haven’t been taking pictures.

Wait. That’s a mistake, isn’t it? I should at least be weighing. Well, since I have the only tidbits I’ve harvested so far in the fridge, I’ll go ahead and weigh and record and try this year to keep a total. Urk. Does this mean I need a spreadsheet? Double-urk.

But today’s report is easy.

A couple of weeks ago we went the Garden Cafe for breakfast. We got there early and I saw the gardener, Angie, kneeling over a bed that seemed to be barely started, doing something. Wasn’t sure what. I walked over and found out she was harvesting. This is really dumb, but I didn’t realize you could harvest when the plants were so small. Or maybe I did, but I felt like I should let them grow more or something? Anyway, it was dill she’d planted only a few weeks before, and she was carefully snipping and ended up with several small bunches to sell in the cafe. After our delicious (as usual) breakfast, I bought dill and mint from her and took it home. It has been in my window in a small glass of water since, though I’ve snipped off pieces to use from time to time. The mint is forming roots. The dill is turning yellow. AND… look what else we brought home, evidently! It must have just been an egg at the time.

From what I can determine, it’s an Eastern Black Swallowtail. I brought in some bronze fennel from my garden, hoping it will like it as well as the dill, and will be making a trip to buy organic dill today.

The sign at Rohde’s Organic Nursery said it’s time to plant English peas. Last year I planted a few beans and realized I hadn’t planted anywhere near enough if I wanted to get enough to make even a single meal. Live and learn! So I bought some sugar snaps and will be planting them this week, but I’ll have to figure out the best way to do it. The nice thing about them is that whether I bring in two or a handful, eaten fresh and raw they will be a delight, and I don’t have to worry about whether there are enough for a meal. In my small garden, I’m not sure I want to tie up a sizable corner for 60 days or more. Unless I figure out that that’s a smart thing to do and then plant something else when I pull them. See? Still learning.

I want to plant some seedlings if I can find the seeds. I am trying to decide whether to use garden space for potatoes or not, which will be planted soon.

What’s going on in your garden? On your kitchen windowsill? Tell me in comments or give me a link to your harvest post. See other harvests at daphne’s dandelions!

The Book That Launched the Contest is Now for Sale

If you read romance novels or know somebody who does, I’d love you to buy my new romance, Scandalous. (How is that for subtle?) Okay, I’ll be even more direct. It’s available at Book View Cafe, Amazon, Kobo and now at BN!

It’s here! The chance for you to win a $20 Amazon Gift Certificate for leaving an Amazon review of Scandalous (available at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo) before February 14. Details here.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Garden, Monday Harvest, Square Foot Gardening

10 responses to “Harvest Monday (1-14-13)

  1. Wow I’ve never had a butterfly hatch inside before. I’ve certainly had many of them outside, but never inside.

  2. I am still learning, gardeners never stop learning, another benefit of gardening.
    Beautiful caterpillar, hope it turns into a butterfly for you.

  3. Harvest micro greens and baby items takes some bravery as it is hard to do it when the plant could grow on to maturity – but it is well worth doing! Love that you got a caterpillar with the dill. I hope he goes on to survive and do his transformation.

  4. We’ve raised butterflies inside for two years, now. We started when we realized that all the baby caterpillars were being eaten by birds. If you want more info, I’ve written about it over at my blog. Just click the tag for butterflies.

  5. What a nice surprise. I usually find less appealing stowaways in the herbs that I bring indoors. 🙂

  6. DENISE

    cool…no veggies yet, but my daffodils are coming up early

  7. Plant the snap peas – one of my favorites. Check the packet for height and give them a trellis. They can be planted around the base of a tomato cage. I plant a double row of peas (either snap or snow ) up one side of a 4′ wide bed with a trellis (wire fence) between the rows. I plant greens (spinach, lettuce, mustard) and radishes along the other side of the bed. When it warms up I plant cukes in the middle and they climb the pea trellis after I remove the pea plants. By then most of the greens have been harvested and the cukes are free to run.
    I grow my own potatoes, but must admit, they use a lot of room for what they produce.

  8. Pingback: Oh! Em! Gee! | planetpooks.com

  9. ace

    Look up info for growing potatoes in a bag. Easier to deal with that way — plus, they’re less likely to contaminate your tomatoes with blight because you won’t accidentally leave pieces of potato in the ground when you harvest.

Hit me with it.

