WWW Wednesday (01-09-13)

First things first —

Happy birthday, Severus Snape, the favorite character in the Harry Potter books!

Now, then.

Back to WWW Wednesday. This meme is from shouldbereading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

I’m reading an ARC, The Cornerstone, by Anne C PettyHow do you catch a banshee? But more importantly, if you succeed, how can you hope to survive the ordeal? The consequences of such dark magic are high, and if you try to let go once you’ve got that tiger by the tail, it may cost your very soul!

Atlanta is a cosmopolitan, theater-going city that supports its fair share of the arts. But when a small theatrical company takes on the production of Christopher Marlowe’s famous play, Dr. Faustus, in the century-old Janus Theater, things don’t go as planned. Unexplained stage effects appear as cast members disappear, accidents seem more than coincidence, and an earthquake splits a busy downtown thoroughfare. Oh, and did we mention the rumored ghost in the basement?

Paramedic Claire Porter thinks her volunteer prompter’s job with the company will give her some relief from her stressful day job, and it is fun, at first. But as they say, the Devil is in the details.

I read that description prior to requesting the book from the Library Thing Early Reviewer program, but by the time I found out I’d been chosen as a reviewer I’d forgotten it. Thus the opening sequence and cover had me all prepared to settle in for spooky paranormal historical novel set in England. Ooops! Next thing I know, we’re in Hot-lanta! So far it’s an intriguing book.

I’m listening to another historical romance, this time, Unraveled by Courtney Milan. This is a richly painted story with a young heroine raised by her parents–actors–who lives precariously in London’s underworld and an emotionally uninvolved hero who is a magistrate determined to bring justice to those same streets. So far the story is fascinating and the relationship between them intense, and I am seeing why I keep finding Milan’s name on lists of favorite authors.

 

 

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

As I mentioned last week, Between the Devil and Desire. You should definitely read the first in series before this one, but this one has the Artful Dodger as hero and I’m looking forward to see what Lorraine Heath does with the other of Fagin’s boys that she writes about. Clever concept and well done.

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

This hasn’t changed since last week, but as I did get the ARC in the meantime, I decided to read it first.  Votes for Vixens  is my most likely “next read,” written by Tara Chevrestt. Suffragettes, women’s rights, and a love story between Elizabeth and Margaret, it’s all intriguing and new ground for me. I haven’t read a LGBT genre romance before, and I’ve been interested in the suffragettes for a long time but haven’t ever actually read much about them so am looking forward to this one.

I’ve joined two reading challenges–the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) and my own challenge, the Embarrassment of Riches Challenge –and Votes for Vixens satisfies both.

$20 Amazon Gift Certificate to one lucky Amazon reviewer!

It’s here! The chance for you to win a $20 Amazon Gift Certificate for leaving an Amazon review of Scandalous (available at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo) before February 14. Details here.

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

11 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Contest, Embarrassment of Riches, Reading, Reading Challenges, Scandalous, WWW Wednesday

11 responses to “WWW Wednesday (01-09-13)

  1. The Cornerstone sounds so intriguing! Can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    Thanks for reminding us – Happy Birthday Snape!

  2. Currently reading Hugh Howey’s “First Shift: Legacy,” the prequel to “Wool: Omnibus,” which should be read *after* reading “Wool,” as I mentioned last week. While “Wool” was well written, I’m noticing a bit more polish on this one. This author isn’t one to be so content with success that he stops bothering to improve his craft.

    Recently finished “Why Are You Atheists So Angry?” by Greta Christina. Would it be too much to ask for everyone on the planet to please read this, at least once, from cover to cover? Thank you.

    Next, I’ll probably read “First Among Sequels,” the fifth book in Jasper Fforde’s hilarious “Thursday Next” series. These are great reads, especially for writers! Note: these should be read on the ereader or the page, if possible, not listened to on audio. There are lots of visual “inside jokes” to be enjoyed, such as when the real character, Hamlet, visits our world and no one can understand him because he speaks in Courier Bold, or when the spilling vyrus attax.

  3. Lauri

    Current: Two of a Kind – Rosemary Edghill (hardback); A Storm of Swords – George R. R. Martin (cd)
    Recently finished: Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
    To read next: Beautiful Darkness

    I’m kind of sorry I read Beautiful Creatures, I wanted to wait because the movie looks good, but of course now I have expectations and visuals in my head from the book. However, the book was excellent.

  4. I didn’t realize it’s Snape’s birthday! Another reason to celebrate!

  5. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Courtney Milan’s books and really need to give them a try. I do love a good historical romance!

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

  6. Unraveled looks very enticing! Thanks for sharing and visiting The Coffee Pot! =)

  7. DENISE

    aw, I missed his birthday

Hit me with it.

