WWW Wednesday (12-26-12)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading.

The authors at Book View Cafe have started participating in this meme, by the way. This week Pati Nagle shares her WWW there. Come on over and look. She has some interesting reads, and also has a wonderful Yule novella new at BVC this week.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

Still reading Rivers of London (in the US it’s Midnight Riot). (I posted a Tuesday Teaser last week.) If you know London, you’ll probably find this one lots of fun and hella fascinating. I need to get a map of the Greater London area because I’d love to visualize some of the movements more fully, and there are other books in this series.

 

 

 

 

The Resident Storm Chaser and I just finished listening to the audiobook of The Man with the Golden Torc (Secret Histories, Book 1) by Simon R Green.  I’d listened to it before but knew he’d enjoy it. We like listening to books together when we’re driving. It’s how he “read” all of the Harry Potters, as a matter of fact.

This is another urban fantasy with an English setting. I’m glad I’ve discovered both these writers.

• What did you recently finish reading?

Even though it has been a few weeks since I actually finished The Casual Vacancy, I haven’t summed up my thoughts on it to post. I think primarily I’ve held back because I can’t really express them without spoilers and even though I can warn of them, I just hate writing spoilers. It’s a quirk of mine. But I will definitely be sharing my final thoughts in the next few days, before the year’s end. I’ll spoil my review with this, though: I give it five stars.

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I have several novels with Christmas themes or settings that I haven’t gotten to yet. I’m not sure whether to snag one of those before the holiday ends, or catch up with one of the books that has been on Pile O’ Books ™ for awhile without reaching the top.

I’m also thinking about taking on a Reading Challenge or two in 2013, and if I do, one may be to read 12 books that I already own but haven’t read yet. Anybody else in on that one?  Is there already an existing challenge for that, or do we need to create one? And if we do, does anybody want to make a nifty icon? 

Nifty icon on the way. Particulars will be posted soon!

I’m going to do the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge (see banner at the bottom of the right sidebar) because it seems easy for me, since I already read a lot of historical fiction, and because it has a pretty banner.

The Book That Launched the Contest is Now for Sale

By the way, my own romance novel with a Christmas setting is available at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo, if you’re looking for an inexpensive Christmas gift or some light reading for yourself. Also, as always, I will eventually be giving a $20 gift certificate to some lucky Amazon reviewer, so if you review, be sure you post it there to be eligible. /end shameless self-promotion

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Fantasy, Reading, Reading Challenges, Urban Fantasy, WWW Wednesday

9 responses to “WWW Wednesday (12-26-12)

  1. I still haven’t read The Casual Vacancy! I’ve heard such mixed reviews about it. I know what you mean about not wanting to include spoilers even if you warn about them. I feel the same way and it’s something I have trouble with, too. Thanks for stopping by my WWW.

    • TCV is social commentary in a very readable form, with intense characterizations of teenagers who are not easy to love. You have to push anything Potter-like aside and treat this as a new book by a new author.

  2. I haven’t read any Simon R. Green yet…I think I have a book or two of his on my shelf though…Speaking of reading from your TBR – I really need to do that this year. I was just looking around at my wall of books and started freaking out a little bit. Something has to give! (Do I sound dramatic enough?)
    I will join 🙂

  3. Nyx

    As Megan said, been seeing so many mixed reviews about The Casual Vacancy, still can’t make up my mind if to read it or not.

    • As I said to her, TCV is social commentary in a very readable form, with intense characterizations of teenagers who are not easy to love. You have to push anything Potter-like aside and treat this as a new book by a new author. It’s quite compelling but not everybody’s cuppa, for sure.

  4. denise

    nice picks…reading a lot of freebies on the kindle

  5. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (01-23-13) | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

