WWW Wednesday (12-19-12)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading.

The authors at Book View Cafe have started participating in this meme, by the way. This week Kelly McClymer shares her WWW there. Come on over and look. She has some interesting reads.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

• What are you currently reading?

I insist upon calling it Rivers of London but in the US it’s Midnight Riot. (I posted a Tuesday Teaser yesterday.)  I’m so annoyed by the American publishing establishment’s insisting upon changes from the original for no good reason that I can tell.

Do generic covers sell better in the US? Do we really need a cover with a man holding a gun in one hand before we will buy it? And is Midnight Riot truly a more evocative “buy me” title? I’m the Anglophile in this conversation so of course my opinion is, not only no, but hell no.

I’m loving this book, by the way. I am thrilled to discover urban fantasy that is set in the UK. Werewolves and vampires in American settings–especially sexy ones–just don’t intrigue me even a little bit so I’ve pretty much skipped the entire urban fantasy craze. But this combination of police procedural (New Scotland Yard) and paranormal is great fun.

• What did you recently finish reading?

The Twelve Clues of Christmas (A Royal Spyness Mystery) by Rhys Bowen was perfect “cozy mystery” listening while I loaded the Christmas tree with ornaments and lights. I love these books and I love the narrator.

I also read Marriage of Mercy, by Carla Kelly. I usually like her Regency romances quite a lot but this one was less compelling to me.

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I can never answer this question! But I do have an idea. Some years ago I discovered a fun mystery series, Her Majesty Investigates, by C.C. Benison. I inhaled Death at Buckingham Palace, Sandringham House (which included a Christmas panto) and Windsor Castle. I assumed Balmoral would follow, but… nada.  Nothing more for years. Then last week I found out that Bennison has a new series, and I downloaded the first book. Twelve Drummers Drumming: A Mystery (Father Christmas Mysteries) Now, you tell me, how could I resist?

The Book That Launched the Contest is Now for Sale

By the way, my own romance novel with a Christmas setting is vailable at Book View Cafe, Amazon and now, at Kobo, if you’re looking for an inexpensive Christmas gift or some light reading for yourself. Also, as always, I will eventually be giving a $20 gift certificate to some lucky Amazon reviewer, so if you review, be sure you post it there to be eligible. /end shameless self-promotion

What about you? What have you been reading lately? Put the link to your WWW Wednesday entry in comments, or just tell me!

20 Comments

Filed under Book Pooks Wrote, Books, Fantasy, Mysteries, Reading, Scandalous, WWW Wednesday

20 responses to “WWW Wednesday (12-19-12)

  1. I have Moon over Soho but need to get my hands on Rivers of London first! I do not like the American covers actually and am much more excited about reading them after reading this. Seeing the guy/gun makes me think of a different genre! I don’t read too many cozies, I might have to try your recommendations, I see Rhys Bowen all over the place these days.

    • Did I say I’m loving Rivers of London? I’m loving it! The Midnight Riot cover isn’t awful–the glowing ball in one hand and gun in another, but it also doesn’t really address what is special about the book or its English setting.

  2. i definitely like the original title and cover of Rivers of London

  3. Checked out your book on Amazon and it looks like something I’d definitely be interested in so I went ahead and added it to my list. :]

    My WWW Wednesday

  4. So many holiday-themed books! You have inspired my reading for the next couple of weeks!

  5. Yes, why on earth would they change a book’s title? I totally agree with you on that and the dramatic cover change, it’s ridiculous. I like the original cover a lot better :/ Anywho, I think I could really get into the Her Majesty Investigates series! I never knew about it before but it looks right up my alley, thanks! 😀

    Novel Reveries

  6. Current: Shadow’s Master, Jon Sprunk
    Just Finished: Caliban’s War, James SA Corey
    Likely to read next: TBD

  7. Hi there!
    I haven’t heard of any of these books, but I hope you enjoy them all! 🙂

    Here you can find my WWW post for this week:

    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/12/www-wednesdays-dec19.html

    If you are interested in, you could have a look to the challenge I launched, the “2013 Women Challenge”. Have fun with me and my challenge! ^_^

    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/12/2013-women-challenge.html

    Bye and enjoy your books!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  8. For what its worth I’d be much more apt to by Rivers of London with that cover and title than Midnight Riot. Both the cover and title of the US edition are really off putting to me and I wouldn’t pick them up. I might have to look for the UK version when I am in Ireland next Spring.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

  9. Interesting books. I haven’t heard of these. Rivers of London looks great, I will have to check it out. Thank you for stopping by my WWW and Happy Holidays!

    Katie ~ Turner’s Antics

  10. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 6-12-2013 | Book View Cafe Blog

  11. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – 6-12-2013 | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

