Teaser Tuesday (12-18-12)

So I’m doing another meme* from shouldbereading. I don’t plan to do this one often, but I was in the mood today, so, sue me.

Two sentences from my current read:

 

“Which is how I came to be standing around Covent Garden in a freezing wind at six o’clock in the morning, and why it was me that met the ghost.

“Sometimes I wonder whether, if I’d been one that went for coffee and not Leslie May, my life would have been much less interesting and certainly much less dangerous.”

 

Rivers of London is the title in the UK. And as usual, I much prefer the UK title and cover to the ones for the US, Midnight Riot. I downloaded it as a Kindle book so it doesn’t make that much difference, but I think I’m about to order the print book from the UK, as well, quite possibly because I’m so annoyed by the American changes. No, I can’t explain the way my mind works.

Which cover and title do you prefer?

I’m so glad I’ve found urban fantasy that is set in the UK. I have never been tempted by werewolves and vampires roaming American streets, but this Ben Aaronovitch stuff is right up my avenue.

 

* The meme:

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Fantasy, Reading

6 responses to “Teaser Tuesday (12-18-12)

  1. Wow, the UK version is SO much more appealing. I completely agree with you on this one. It makes it look more literary vs. the US “Jason Bourne” cover. Sounds like a good read though. Thanks for the teaser! My TT this week is from Angelfall, if you’d like to stop by.

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (12-19-12) | planetpooks.com

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (12-26-12) | planetpooks.com

  4. denise

    love the UK cover/title more

Hit me with it.

