WWW Wednesday (Nov 7, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I’m doing a final proofread on my own book, the one Book View Cafe is readying for a December 4 release which is only one month away!

Hint: It’s scandalous!

If you’re a reviewer and/or book blogger and want an ARC, let me know.  If you’re a librarian and want to know more about acquiring Book View Cafe books for your system, we’re now available through Overdrive and are also collecting emails from all who want to be updated on our library news, so let me know that, as well, and I’ll make sure you get connected.

I forced myself to stop reading The Casual Vacancy until I caught up with my blogging and then didn’t catch up. Aaargh. Unhappy about this turn of events and am going to make this my next blogging priority after today. Join me here if you want to start the ride with me. I look forward to your reactions, whether you hate it, love it, or are somewhere in between.

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

Everybody and their dog loves The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I am not sure that listening to it was the best choice. After seven audiobooks and I don’t even want to know how many hours of Jim Dale reading Harry Potter, I am finding it difficult to hear his voice in the context of this story.

But there’s more at play than that. This is a book that doesn’t focus on a single character, or even two characters. It is not told chronologically. It bounces around. Issues that can sometimes create a bit of a problem in an audiobook where it’s awkward when something comes up you don’t recall, and you can’t just flip back and look again to make sure you understand, become very problematical in this kind of narrative when you’re listening instead of reading. A book that bounces around in time, and from character to character to character, can be a challenge to pull off at best. In this case as an audiobook it was insurmountable for me.

Any time I listened, I was involved and interested. But I wasn’t compelled. I never felt a yearning to get back to it between times. In fact I often regretted I didn’t have something else to listen to, and I regretted choosing it as an audiobook instead of print. So, my verdict on this book was, “Meh.” I might have felt different had I read it in print.

On my Kindle, I finished Danse de la Folie by Sherwood Smith. I said last week, “What a lovely, lovely Austen-esque romance. I am enjoying this so much, like a fresh dip into a clear, crystal stream of sheer Regency delight.” Nothing changed by the time I finished. What a total delight. This isn’t steamy. It’s a flash back to the day when Regencies had not yet discovered sex. And even though I have absolutely no regrets about the changes in Regency romance, I also didn’t miss them in this one. Emotionally the relationships were spot on, the characters sparkling, the plot twisty enough to be fun. Highly recommended!
• What do you think you’ll read next?

You mean after I finish the proofread of my own next release, and finish reading The Casual Vacancy? Wow, to choose a new book!

Checkmate: Sixth in the Legendary Lymond Chronicles, maybe.

Or maybe The Irish Duchess

 

 

 

 

Or maybe Living With Ghosts?

 

 

Or Midnight Never Come…

 

 

 

 

 

Or maybe Collared (A Gin & Tonic Mystery)

What are you reading? Post a link to your blog or answer here. What should I be reading? Hit me with it!

 

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

NOTE: We have a winner in the Some Enchanted Season reviewer contest. Congrats and thanks to Erin Hill!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “WWW Wednesday (Nov 7, 2012)

  1. I have read 60 pages of Casual Vacancy and am enjoying it, but am getting lost with all the characters. I can’t remember who belongs to which house/circumstance, but I will soldier through. 🙂 Bummer about Night Circus! I hope it is better in print…that is on my to be read soon list…

    • They do become more distinct as you keep reading, but it’s a problem. And it’s the same issue in The Night Circus, compounded because the story skips back and forth in time.

  2. denise

    I’m going through a Regency phase at the moment, current read is a Jade Lee.

    I need to get back to some contemporary reads.

    Thanks for the great ideas.

  3. Thanks for stopping by to check out my list. Casual Vacancy has been calling me, I just haven’t picked up yet. Sorry to hear you didn’t fall in love with Night Circus. Danse de la Folie sounds like a good book. Haven’t read anything like that in a while. I may check it out.

  4. LOL… It definitely look like you have a lot of different choices in what you can read next. I hope you enjoy them.

    Thanks for stopping by my b log earlier, returning some of the love <3.

  5. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (November 28, 2012) | planetpooks.com

  6. I really enjoyed The Night Circus. Would you consider reading it in print even though you’ve already listened to it, or do you think it wouldn’t make a difference in your opinion?

Hit me with it.

