WWW Wednesday (October 31, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I’m finally reading–rather, listening to– The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I am not sure that listening to it was the best choice. After seven audiobooks and I don’t even want to know how many hours of Jim Dale reading Harry Potter, I am finding it difficult to hear his voice in the context of this story.  I have seen it categorized as a romance in a couple of places, and if it gets romantic I’m sure I’ll be missing out on a lot of it just because of Jim Dale. Not his fault, of course. I can’t be sure until the book is over and I see how it all ends, but now, I’m thinking I would have enjoyed it more if I’d read it myself instead of taking advantage of a good sale and snagging it on on audible.

On my Kindle, I’m reading (and loving) Danse de la Folie by Sherwood Smith. What a lovely, lovely Austen-esque romance. I am enjoying this so much, like a fresh dip into a clear, crystal stream of sheer Regency delight. Sherwood is one of my fellow authors at Book View Cafe.  Even though I’ve bought a couple of her books, this is the first book of hers that I’ve read. I will definitely be reading more.

 

I’m still reading The Casual Vacancy, and blogging my reactions, section by section. I’m very near the end but forced myself to stop. One more section to blog, then I can finish the book and post my last comments.  Join me here if you want to start the ride with me. I look forward to your reactions, whether you hate it, love it, or are somewhere in between.

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

Easy, by Tammara Webber. This is another one of the self-published books that became a huge success on Amazon, and now is being picked up by Penguin and published in print. I wanted to see what it was like. I got about 1/3 of the way into it and it was a big DNF [did not finish] because I thought she was TSTL [too stupid to live]. Honestly, a few reviewers were frustrated with her because she played hard to get. I wanted to bitch-slap everybody and say, “Really? THAT’S what you think is wrong here?” I wanted to run around in circles flailing over her foolhardy stupidity, at how foolish and stupid she was about her safety, again and again and again–and if the book hadn’t been an ebook I swear I would have tossed it at the wall.

And a few days later I went back and finished it. And it ended up being a very empowering book on several levels.  I see why it’s popular. Webber writes strong romance and a sexy hero and incredibly deft action. And she eventually gets around to giving her heroine a backbone. I’m glad I went back and finished it. This isn’t a perfect book by any means, but it has strengths and eventually ends in a good place. [Note: This is a book I wouldn’t have known about without following WWW Wednesdays. I do love this process because it forces me to slow down occasionally and record a few thoughts about what I’m doing, and it also points me to books that aren’t in my typical areas of interest.]

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Tough question. If I read anything at all in the next month it will probably be very light reading. I am going to attempt to do nanowrimo. Yes, I’m crazy.

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

NOTE: Midnight tonight (Halloween) is your last chance to win a $20 Amazon gift certificate.

13 Comments

Filed under Book View Cafe, Books, Giveaways, Reading, WWW Wednesday

13 responses to “WWW Wednesday (October 31, 2012)

  1. I run around like crazy about books all the time! I dislike e-readers because I can’t throw them down when I am mad at the book in my dramatic fits of pique! (I loved the visual of you by the way – hilarity). I just started Casual Vacancy so I stopped reading your updates since you kept with the warnings. I will read it and then come back to chat about it. 🙂 That Sherwood Smith book sounds awesome! Can’t wait to read your review. My WWW is here:
    http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/www-wednesdays-october-31st/

    • I am really loving Sherwood’s book. This is an old-fashioned Regency, sweet not sexy, and as much as I like the steamy ones, I’m really enjoying this one without the steam. The characterizations are fun and we have two romantic couples to follow.

  2. denise

    great picks, as always

    on Kindle I finished Tempting Juliana, I’m still reading Becoming Clementine in print…

  3. I want to read “The Night Circus”, too. I’ve read many good reviews about it on different blogs and the story seems very interesting.
    Happy Halloween and a nice reading-week! (:
    Greetings,
    Nora

  4. I have very much associated Jim Dale with the voice of the HP books. It would be hard to make that transition. I’ve not read The Casual Vacancy yet, but I’m curious to see what you’re posting about. Off to check that out.

    • I will continue listening to the Jim Dale read despite my doubts, since I always have to have a book to listen to and have no credits to waste. The book is fascinating. I look forward to your thoughts on The Casual Vacancy once you read it!

  5. I’m glad to hear that you went back and finished Easy and that you liked it in the end. Its one of my favorite books of October. I’ve also had that happen to me a few times were I pick up a book dislike it and put it down only to return later give it another shot and ending up liking it. Sometimes its all about timing.

    I also totally understand about Jim Dale as a narrator. I first started the HP books on audio and don’t think I can listen to him read anything but those. He is those characters and I’m not sure I could ever wrap my brain on his trying to be other people. lol

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    • I’m not loving The Night Circus. Every time I listen I get caught up in it, but when it’s time to listen again, I find myself kind of wanting to listen to something different. Am wondering if I’d have enjoyed this more as a book without Jim Dale’s voice (or any voice–the way the narrative skips around between time periods and characters doesn’t lend itself well to audiobook, I don’t think).

  6. Irish would yell at me about this, but I still haven’t read The Night Circus yet. She’s been pushing me to read it, so I think I’m going to suggest it for my book group soon. I’m also reading The Casual Vacancy. I didn’t mention it in my WWW as I just started so haven’t gotten too far. I’m going to try to get to it this weekend though.

    My WWW for this week. Happy reading!

Hit me with it.

