Harvest Monday (October 15, 2012)

We were still bringing in okra but not doing anything with it.  I finally pulled it up to prepare for the winter garden. Pulling up a 12-foot okra tree was not easy. Wearing my fitbit while pulling it up? Made it worthwhile.  For some reason fitbit interpreted my unusual grunts, groans, heaves and snarls as taking flights of stairs and gave me a little bit of extra credit. Hey, I will take any I can get!

In the meantime Daphne’s Dandelions, the host of this meme, is still bringing in lots of goodies!

Once the basil, okra, peppers and such were yanked up, I planted brassica of various types. For you non-farmers out there, that means broccoli, brussels sprouts, cauliflower and such. Here is the bed that was previously an eggplant/okra jungle.

It looks rather insignificant now. And I’ve been told that I need to move about 1/3 of them to another bed because these will grow too big. Okay, I can do that. I also have concerns that if each of these plants presents a single veg (cauliflower, for example) I really don’t have much in the way of meals here. But live and learn!

On the other hand, the red and green mustard I planted a few weeks ago (also bedding plants) is doing beautifully.

I’ve harvested and cooked the first bunch and it was tasty enough, though I should have added a bit more salt to the water because salt added after isn’t quite the same.  I prefer them sauteed or stir fried but the Resident Storm Chaser prefers them cooked with bacon drippings like nature intended. There was also a bit of a facebook discussion about whether or not to eat them after Jake decided they were his personal urinal, and if so, the best way to clean first. Feel free to chime in on that one!

 

Ratty radishes.

Un-thinned carrots.

Radishes and carrots grown from seed. And finally, the bed that has a few herbs and things in it that I addded various lettuces and greens to.

Hopefully it will keep us going for a long time as long as we don’t let it freeze.

So, that’s our Monday harvest, which is actually a glimpse at harvests to come. What’s up with yours?

In other news, if you want to read JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy with me, go here. If you want to find out more about my own new e-book, go here. And if you want to find out how to win a $20 Amazon gift certificate, go here!

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Garden, Giveaways, JK Rowling, Monday Harvest, Review, Some Enchanted Season, Square Foot Gardening, The Casual Vacancy

8 responses to “Harvest Monday (October 15, 2012)

  1. What variety of okra did you grow? I am thinking of putting in some okra next year but first I must decide what I am going to give up as fenced in garden space is limited.
    You do need to thin you carrots and quickly. Your red and green mustards are beautiful.

    • I used two heirloom okras and am not thrilled with either. They both grew well but one was FAT HUGE (Hill Country Red) okra and I wasn’t really ever in the mood to experiment enough with them to figure out the best size to pick and cook. The other were LONG SKINNY and I kind of did the same with them. Neither were typical of what I’m used to seeing so I just kind of stared at them a lot. I know, my bad!

  2. The young bed of brassicas look really healthy and full of promise of good eating to come.

    The fitbit was probably pretty accurate in that ranking out big deep rooted plants can be a real work out. Speaking from experience here. 😉

    • My fitbit is now hiding from me!!! It doesn’t want to work that hard ever ever again. Maybe if I sweet talk it with false promises it will show up again.

  3. denise

    plucked my first saffron of the season yesterday. lots of shoots ready to flower. did you ever get bulbs to plant?

    • I never did get bulbs. What are you going to cook with it?

      • denise

        I need to learn something beyond the typical uses of paella and Pennsylvania-German dishes I use it for…

        I’m going to an author’s fundraiser in a few months. Atypically, the author is a chef–Seamus Mullen–and I’m hoping to get ideas from him. I may even bring some to bribe him for some ideas.

  4. Pingback: Lists Condemn Me | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

