WWW Wednesday (October 3, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading, but before I go any further–

IT’S BANNED BOOKS WEEK.

Book View Cafe is running a series of daily blog entries on banned books that are thought-provoking and sometimes fun, and I can’t recommend it highly enough. Please go check them out.

An excerpt from one of today’s posts:  It’s all too easy to say, “If you don’t want your kids to read that stuff, don’t let them, but it’s fine for mine,” or “If your viewpoint is that narrow, it deserves to be broadened!”   “Not Even Mein Kampf: Why Hateful Books Should Not Be Banned,” by Deborah Ross.

And now, of course, the books!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I’m embarrassed to admit that The Ringed Castle is getting shoved aside yet again. Lymond deserves better treatment, but I have a couple of library books I really would like to read before they disappear from my Kindle, thus…

Today I am double-dipping in World War II England.  The book I’m reading on my Kindle is a library borrow, the first in a mystery series, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary, by Susan Elia MacNeal. IRA terrorists, Nazis, and Churchill’s underground war room–this is a really terrific read so far. Plus I’m eager to know what Maggie Hope doesn’t know about her father, that everybody else does…

And I’m listening to a World War II book with a totally different tone but equally engrossing, The House at Tyneford, by Natasha Solomons. A nineteen-year-old Viennese Jewish girl (raised without religion by her opera-singer mother and novelist father) is sent to England as a parlour maid to escape the Nazi threat. Elise is confused, lost, angry and totally unsuited to servitude… and her world is about to turn upside down in more ways than one. I’m enjoying it, and it’s making me much happier about bustling about doing housework or even (gasp) walking for my health. Along with keeping score by logging steps with my fitbit, of course.

What did you recently finish reading?

Another Lisa Kleypas romance. I really enjoy her romances. She has made very, very few missteps in my opinion, or at least, that I’ve read so far. I enjoyed much about this one, Where Dreams Begin. If I were a betting girl (and I’m not) I would bet that the book originally ended with “happily ever after” and she needed to make it longer.  (You’ll have to read it to get that reference.)  It continued to be interesting and I wasn’t gnashing my teeth with frustration or anything, but the romance had concluded and now we just got a bit of what happened next.  Still, a good read.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Well, The Casual Vacancy is still on the way from England.  I think the saddest part of knowing that the reviews are dismal is that it has been very easy to avoid spoilers. People aren’t even talking about it. So will it really be next? Not sure.

But because of all the banned books talk I’m also considering which banned book is next on my reading agenda and I think I might just tackle this one.

Ulysses, by James Joyce.  I somehow always thought it would be heavy, awful reading, and it might be. And I might not finish it. But Kit Kerr tells me it she found it to be funny in a vulgar and scatalogical way, and how can I not give that a try, I ask? I may try to find an annotated version so I can actually understand it, though.

 

Oh, and have I suggested what your next read might be? One of my books perhaps? Yes, I am shameless. You can find them both here (one on sale, even).  Or on Amazon here and here.

 

What books have you excited right now? What are your WWWs? Let me know via link to your blog, or in my comments!

NOTE: I am running another contest to reward reviewers on Amazon. If you’re interested, here is your chance to win a $20 Amazon gift certificate.

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

34 Comments

Filed under amazon, Audiobooks, banned books, Books, Giveaways, La Desperada, Library books, Reading, Some Enchanted Season, WWW Wednesday

34 responses to “WWW Wednesday (October 3, 2012)

  1. I do want to read The Casual Vacancy, but I think it will probably tank. Not because it’s not good, but because people will subconciously want it to be harry potter or some equivalent and it’s not. I think that happens when you go from one genre to another after popularity. I hope you enjoy it, though! Thanks for stopping by!

    • I love British mysteries set in English villages so she’s ahead of the game with me. Also, I won’t be offended by adult language and situations. I’m hoping I like it a lot.

  2. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag! I love your book selections. I have The House of Tyneford on my TBR list. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. And the Rowling book…. I’m not too excited to read so that will be another one I will be interested in seeing how you like it.

    • I’m listening to Tyneford and the reader does a good job. That always makes a difference–audiobook vs text. But I’ll definitely be letting you know.

  3. The House at Tynford is on my to read list! I’m hoping my copy of A Casual Vacancy comes in the mail today… I’ve been seeing in everywhere and regret I pre-ordered online :/ But I think people are comparing it to her other books and that’s a major factor in the dismal reviews. I’ll have to find out myself 🙂 Happy Reading!
    Novel Reveries

    • I’m almost finished with Tyneford and Casual Vacancy still isn’t here. I knew when I ordered it from the UK it would take awhile, but this is taking longer than usual.

  4. Wow – Ulysses – I tried it in high school and just didn’t get far, that would be fun – good luck…and I hope you like Casual – I want to pick that up someday. Great stuff this week 🙂

  5. These all sound like really interesting books. I haven’t read a Lisa Kleypas romance in a really long time, but she is definitely a good romance writer. My all time favorite would have to be Bertrice Small. Have you ever read any of her books?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, returning some of the love ❤

  6. I gave myself a LOT of time to read Ulysses and I did enjoy it but I had to work at it. I’ve added The House at Tyneford to my TBR.

  7. I have The House of Tyneford on my to read shelf! Im looking forward to reading it!

    • I’m looking forward to finishing it. It’s not obvious how it’s going to end (though I’ve had my suspicions since almost the beginning, and want to see if I’m right).

      • Hey! I am looking for a pheoographtr for an outdoor party on 11/11 starting at 5:30 pm. We are having another event the following night (11/12) starting at 6:00. I guess it’s technically a wedding but there won’t be a ceremony, preacher, isle, etc. Friday night is a cook-out and Saturday is just a party. Would you have any interest in something like this?

  8. Good ones. ‘The House on Tyneford’ looks very good and I am torn about reading J.K. Rowling’s adult book.

    http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2012/10/what-heck-are-you-reading-wednesdays.html

    • I’m really looking forward to reading JKR’s book with low expectations. Knowing it’s getting bad reviews lowers to bar so much that I may be able to actually enjoy it.

  9. This is a great list. I don’t read much historical fiction, but every now and then I want to travel to the past. Mr. Churchill’s Secretary sounds like a good read to me. Thanks for sharing.

  10. I love Lisa Kleypas’s books! I also have Mr Churchill’s Secretary on hold at the library. I am excited for it.

    My WWW Wednesday can be found here.

  11. Oo, thanks for linking the banned books post! ❤ Also I love your blog, it's so pretty!

    • There are a lot of really good banned books posts on BVC this week. I’ll have one up on Saturday about Lolita. And thanks for liking my blog. I used a template from elegantthemes.com but the background picture is mine. I took it in Cornwall in 2011 and I love it.

  12. Thanks for stopping by The Coffee Pot. Looks like you have a very well-rounded WWW post. Been thinking about giving A Casual Vacancy a chance myself, but am still unsure whether I want to read/review it.

    Happy Reading!

  13. I just finished Robert Blake’s fascinating and astonishingly well-written book, Tales From a Rascal. I recommend this book for writers, especially. Want to know how to tell a story? Learn from a master. Want to be entertained? He’s got that covered, too.

  14. You current reads sound amazing, I’ve been obsessed with WWII lately for some reason, so I’ll add them to my list. I know I’ll eventually read The Casual Vacancy, but I’m so worried I won’t like it & it’ll change my opinion of her as a writer. Ulysses isn’t so bad, just take your time & take breaks!

  15. Zan

    I loved Harry Potter, and I completely agree with you on The Casual Vacancy. Also, I know someone who read Ulysses and LOVED it, even though it took them a while.

  16. denise

    finished How I Came To Sparkle Again and Blackberry Winter, started The Lady Risks All and The Reckoning…didn’t start the JK Rowling book since so many friends aren’t happy with it–I’ll try it next week.

Hit me with it.

