WWW Wednesday (September 26, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Today I am returning to The Ringed Castle, by Dorothy Dunnett. I know it’s taking me awhile to read this, but believe me, it’s not the book; it’s me.  It’s my writing schedule.  It’s my publishing schedule.  (As of yesterday my new book is out here and here, yay!)

 

 

Listening-reading? I have just begun Where Dreams Begin, by Lisa Kleypas. I wasn’t totally thrilled with the beginning. The “kiss before they know each other” thing doesn’t work for me as well as a kiss that comes as a growing need and desire until finally, you can’t stand it any longer, and it happens. But I am liking the characters (as I usually do with Kleypas) and expect to like the book a lot.

And then there is the other book I am reading. Scandalous, but this writer you might of heard of–oh, ME. This is going to be out in December in time for Christmas, as it’s set at Christmas, although it’s not “about” Christmas. It’s about a madcap heiress and the unfortunate guy she has targeted to be the target of her scandal, and it’s lots of fun, but I am up against an “issue” and I would like your help, especially if you are someone who might buy a romance novel with this kind of story.

The original cover is the one I refer to as “the one with My Friend Cindy and Cadaver Ken on the front.”

This photo does not do it justice. Because seriously, that guy? Looks dead.  Cold. Waxy. As I said, Cadaver Ken.

Cindy Paisley deserved better.

But that’s why I need your help.  We are currently looking at new cover ideas and I am having trouble deciding between one which is very fun and playful and different with an image like this on it? Which fits the story, believe it or not.

Or something more like this on it. Which fits her hero very much so.

Help me choose! Real people or cartoon, this time?

• What did you recently finish reading?

Just last night finished reading the proofs for The Trouble with Air and Magic by Patricia Rice–the sequel to The Lure of Song and Magic. It made me want to rearrange everything in my house! Love the heroine, the hero, their families, well– You will be hearing more about this one soon, but it’s not available yet.

 


 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I just got word that my UK edition of The Casual Vacancy is on the way!

I’m avoiding all spoilers and reviews. I know nothing about it except that it’s a mystery and I think takes place in an English village. I’m so there!

What books have you excited right now? What are your WWWs? Let me know via link to your blog, or in my comments!

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

NOTE:  I am running another contest to reward reviewers on Amazon. If you’re interested, here is your chance to win a $20 Amazon gift certificate.

12 Comments

Filed under amazon, Books, Contest, Giveaways, Mysteries, Reading, Romance, Writing, WWW Wednesday

12 responses to “WWW Wednesday (September 26, 2012)

  1. Hmmmm, I think the cartoon there reminds me more of a mystery. Maybe it is just that particular one because I know you will have other things surrounding it…but from those pics, I would go real. 🙂
    Casual vacancy eh? I can’t wait to hear what you think!! It sounds cute, but I am waiting for reviews!
    (Cadaver Ken – *snicker* perfect description!)

  2. Hmm…Well, I like the cartoon because it stands out from the crowd, but I wonder if you could make her appear a little more “scandalous.” Perhaps show a little more leg and put an overlay of kissing lips? Or have her leaning forward blowing a kiss inside a smoke ring?

    I’m just playing with ideas here, but I love the idea of getting the Roaring Twenties look on the cover. The head shot of the girl on the cover with Cadaver Ken is nice. Anyway to use her image and jazz it up with some romantic tease?

    • There’s actually a fun headshot of a girl with that bobbed hair and a cloche hat (like Paisley) that I can use if I go real instead of cartoon, so that is definitely an option. Thanks!

  3. denise

    I love the flapper cover!

    My next TBR book will be Some Enchanted Season. I put it on top of the pile.

  4. Congrats on your books!! 😀 I personally like the cartoon version, it’s eye catching. I can’t wait to get The Casual Vacancy either! SOOO EXCITED! I’ll have to put my other books on the backburner once that come in!

Hit me with it.

