My annoying new toy

I have a love/hate relationship with my new toy.

It is a Fitbit.

It tracks my steps. My sleep. If I climb stairs. If I am sedentary, lightly active, fairly active or very active.

It doesn’t do this perfectly.  For example, when it tells me how many miles I walk a day, I doubt it is all that accurate.  It sometimes thinks I have climbed stairs when I haven’t, or that I’ve climbed more than I have. But in general I think it’s a pretty neat little toy and if it thinks I climbed stairs it’s because I did something more strenuous than usual.

Like shopping and trying on clothes.

Yeah, that was weird.  Maybe lots of bending over and standing up?  But I wasn’t even wearing the fitbit when I tried on most of those clothes, so yeah, no clue on that one.

But this hate part is the part where it tells me how sedentary I am. Which, as a writer, I am. But seeing it, and seeing that the standard it sets is 10,000 steps a day and I would have to totally change my life and turn things upside down by, you know, getting out and walking and actually exercising–that is annoying.

Yes, I can change the target, lower it to something more realistic than 10,000 steps a day.

But instead I am feeling all snarly and bitchy and putting on my walking shoes and going out to take a walk.

Bite me, fitbit.

You win  this time.

But don’t start getting ideas about jogging.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “My annoying new toy

  1. Sounds like it needs to come with a warning that it is mood altering. 🙂 Good luck with that thing. Sounds cool, but I dont’ think I want one!

  2. denise

    cool gadget. I have a pedometer I need to start using.

  3. Pingback: This and that for the weekend | planetpooks.com

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (October 3, 2012) | planetpooks.com

  5. Pingback: Lists Condemn Me | planetpooks.com

Hit me with it.

