WWW Wednesday (September 19, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Reading-reading? Still reading  The Ringed Castle, by Dorothy Dunnett. I am having to pull myself out of it to take care of writing business, beta-business, other business, but it is hard. I really want to see what happens next. And oh, what a wordsmith Dunnett was. Sometimes I want to just wrap myself in her words and weep.

 

 

Listening-reading? I am finally catching up with the most recent Temeraire book, Crucible of Gold. I had somehow forgotten how much I adore Temeraire the dragon. I spent a lot of time driving and listening to the audiobook today, and found myself trying to describe Temeraire. If you are familiar with the His Dark Materials trilogy, it might be as if Capt. Will Laurence (Napoleonic Wars) is saddled with a daemon for a conscience–a fire-breathing* Labrador Retriever who drags him into constant trouble, and yet, Laurence can’t deny that the “conscience” is on the side of Right.  Okay, that’s lame, but it’s the best I can do right now.  Anyway, I love Temeraire’s personality, his dialogue, the way he views the world that makes you want to laugh and pull your hair out and–well–read more and more and more.

I’m also reading a new book by Patricia Rice–the sequel to The Lure of Song and Magic but it would be rude to talk about that since it’s not yet available! On the other hand, it might be time to read the original so you’re ready for the sequel, if ya know what I mean and I’m sure you do.

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

Lies and Prophecy (The first book in the Wilders Series), by Marie Brennan. I don’t usually read contemporary paranormal, but I truly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the others in the series. A university where students with paranormal talents study is a fun concept, though in this case, dangerous is more the operative word. Interesting characters and world-building, check it out!

 

 

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

My Kindle is bulging with books, some samples and some library and some books I’ve bought, all waiting for me to hurry up and read. So many, so hard to choose.  Here are a few:

War for the Oaks

To Ride Hell’s Chasm

Argonauts the new generation Colossus

Rules of Civility

What books have you excited right now? What are your WWWs? Let me know via link to your blog, or in my comments!

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

* How quickly I forget! He isn’t a fire-breather, but for purposes of his ability to destroy things and wreak havoc it’s not a bad comparison!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “WWW Wednesday (September 19, 2012)

  1. denise

    well, I finished what I was reading last week. my kindle is only keeping a charge for ~12 hours–clock hours, not reading time– it’s a slow death I and need to make a decision. **tears** just been a crappy week on top of it–life bites sometimes. but then I read my friend’s FB post and she’s 5-years cancer-free from ovarian cancer and my problems are just stuff, right?

    luckily, I have print books in my TBR. I’m still trying to decide which one I want to read.

    I like your offerings.

    • I hope your kindle lasts long enough for you to buy something you love to take its place. I’ve been having issues with my iPod for a year or longer. It won’t hold a charger longer than an hour, if that, so I constantly have to recharge it. I should break down and buy a new one, but so far I haven’t. Plus now I can put the audiobooks on my Kindle Touch to listen to them.

  2. I just left a message somehow, somewhere…so if you see it elsewhere, sorry about that! I loved War for the Oaks and I hope you enjoy when you get to it, I might need to reread 🙂 Also, I think I have a Naomi Novik book in my TBR, I should unearth that… Happy WWW!

  3. I’ll really have to check out a few of these books, Lure of Song and Magic looks interesting 🙂

Hit me with it.

