WWW Wednesday (August 1, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Remember last week how I said I am in love with a new series? Well, I am TRULY in love with a new series! Last week it was the first in the series, Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber, Ship’s Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures). This week it’s Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady (Bloody Jack Adventures).

Repeating what I said last week: I am listening to the audiobooks and the reader, Katherine Kellgren, is stellar. But the narrative voice is so delightful, I want to read the book in print, as well, and will be hard pressed to choose which way to enjoy the next book in the series. Jacky is a strong, wonderful character. The world is so brutal and graphic I am a little surprised at the YA label. I certainly recommend this for a lot of adult readers I know.

I’m still reading The Disorderly Knights: Third in the legendary Lymond Chronicles, by Dorothy Dunnett. I’m debating whether to keep reading it or stop long enough to read The Night Circus so I can turn it back into the library. I’m just not reading print books as much as  I’m listening to audio right now–too much time in the car driving instead of sitting where I can read.

• What did you recently finish reading?

I listened to a short Regency novel between Bloody Jacks, Lady Fortescue Steps Out: A Novel of Regency England – Being the First Volume of The Poor Relation. Charming, exploring a part of society we rarely see in other Regency-era novels: the poor relations who are genteel and starving. Written by Marion Chesney, aka MC Beaton.

A fun tale, the first in a series.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Will I finally read The Night Circus?  Or will I choose something else? Only time will tell!

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Audible, Audiobooks, Books, Library books, Reading, Regency England, WWW Wednesday, Young Adult

10 responses to “WWW Wednesday (August 1, 2012)

  1. Bloody Jack – gotta check those out! I really want to read Night Circus as well, hope you enjoy. 🙂

  2. I have not really heard of those books. I am a follower too.
    here is my post
    Waiting on Wednesday and WWW Post

  3. I hope you like “The Night Circus” as much as I did! My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/www-wednesdays-aug-1/.

  4. These all look like really good books. I will have to look into them 🙂

    You can find my W.W.W. here:

    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/08/www-wednesdays-aug01.html

    Happy reading!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  5. Isn’t it wonderful when you fall in love with a new series? I love discovering a series that has several books out so I can just lose myself in the world for a while. I’ve heard of the Bloody Jack books before from another blogger friend who LOVES them…I might try the first one on audio and see how it goes.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    • I love audiobooks, and this reader is amazing. Jacky has a Cockney accent and grammar and it just brings everything to life so vividly. Thanks for stopping by!

Hit me with it.

