WWW Wednesday (July 25, 2012)

Again, this meme is from shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I am in love with a new series.  Well, I assume I’m in love with the series. I’m certainly loving the first book: Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber, Ship’s Boy (Bloody Jack Adventures). I am listening to the audiobook and the reader, Katherine Kellgren, is stellar. But the narrative voice is so delightful, I want to read the book in print, as well, and will be hard pressed to choose which way to enjoy the next book in the series.  Jacky is a strong, wonderful character. The world is so brutal and graphic I am a little surprised at the YA label. I certainly recommend this for a lot of adult readers I know.

I’m still reading The Disorderly Knights: Third in the legendary Lymond Chronicles, by Dorothy Dunnett. I was already into it when Crossed showed up from the library, followed quickly by The Paris Wife (see below) but now am back into Lymond and loving every word.  It always takes me a bit of time to sink into one of these, because Dunnett keeps the reader at a distance from Lymond. But her world and other characters are so rich, I find myself totally caught up in it once I give it enough time.

• What did you recently finish reading?

A novel exploring Ernest Heminway’s first marriage through the viewpoint of Hadley Hemingway, The Paris Wife.  A fast read, but emotionally difficult at times. I was not familiar with their story and wasn’t sure how it would end.  This is definitely worth reading, and from the notes at the end, is a faithful exploration of a well-documented relationship.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

After I finish the third chronicle of Lymond (see above) I will probably read The Night Circus, since the library just sent me the ebook.  I don’t have the slightest idea what it’s about.  I just know it’s extremely popular and looks cool.

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

Warning: My notifications aren’t working. If you leave a comment, I will reply to it! But you won’t know unless you check back to see. Sorry. I’m having wordpress issues!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Library books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

10 responses to “WWW Wednesday (July 25, 2012)

  1. I really liked “The Night Circus.” Others may disagree. It takes awhile to sort it out and realize how much you liked it after the fact.
    My list is at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/www-wednesdays-25th-july/.

  2. Hi there!
    I haven’t heard of any of these books, but I hope you enjoy them all!

    You can find my WWW post here:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/07/www-wednesdays-july-25.html

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it/

  3. denise

    I like your choices.

    I have a bad habit of starting a book, putting it down for another and getting back to it in a few weeks. Sometimes it helps if the book starts out slow. I finally finished Somebody to Love, 1/3 way through Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow which is the second in the trilogy of historical fiction based on Marie Antoinette. I have a lot of TBR in print and kindle, but I’m not committed to any at the moment.

    • If a book doesn’t start strong enough to keep me involved, I usually end up not getting back to it. I tried to read the first book in the Lymond Chronicles several times and always quit, finally turned the book into Half Price Books during a purge. But for some reason when I downloaded the free sample to my Kindle, I finally stuck with it long enough to get hooked. The only reason I kept trying over the years was because so many people (including Toni) loved those books, and the things they loved about them were things I love, too, so it just felt like I was missing something!

  4. oh The Night Circus is a lovely book; one of my favorite reads this year. I can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    • Sorry not to reply sooner. Gads, I missed this. And guess what, I ended up diving into the next Lymond Chronicle. The Disorderly Knights ended in such a way that I could NOT wait!

Hit me with it.

