WWW Wednesday (June 6, 2012)

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

First, a library ebook loan,The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl, by Barry Lyga. Fanboy is a high school sophomore with more than his share of burdens to bear.  A geek who loves comics and is the smartest nerd in school, he only has one friend, and that friend doesn’t acknowledge him if others are around. I can tell you more, but it makes him sound pretty pathetic.  And honestly, he’s so wicked smart and wicked funny (with an emphasis on wicked, if you consider that he had Planned Parenthood send his mother abortion brochures when he found out she was pregnant with the “step-fascist’s” baby), this is book sucked me in from the first words. Oh, and he meets Goth Girl, which gives him another friend. (Not spoiling anything there. Read the title.)


• What did you recently finish reading?

This one took my breath away. Fledgling, science fiction by Octavia Butler. By the time I finished the third chapter I was literally saying, “Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god,” out loud.  If you read this, you may wonder what it took me so long.  This is compelling reading, violent, and you have to have an open mind to read it. So be forewarned. On the other hand, the world-building is so amazing, the slow unfolding of the story so carefully-crafted, I highly recommend it.  Because the story begins with the main character not knowing anything–and by that, I do mean anything–for me to reveal anything is a spoiler.  Don’t go looking for reviews and get spoiled.  Just go to Amazon or somewhere and read the first chapter and see if it grabs you.  It sure as hell grabbed me.

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I have no idea but I hate when people leave this wide open so I’ll offer a couple of possibilities from books I downloaded from the library today.  Possibly George Orwell’s Homage to Catalonia / Down and Out in Paris and London (2 Works), which I actually didn’t get from the library, but okay, anyway. Moving right along to the library stuff, Half Moon Investigations, by Eoin Colfer… or maybe Jazz, by Toni Morrison, or maybe The Grace Mysteries: Assassin & Betrayal, by Lady Grace Cavendish.  Or, maybe this one: Cross My Heart, by Sasha Gould: When 16-year-old Laura della Scala learns that her older sister, Beatrice, has drowned, she is given no time to grieve. Instead, Laura’s father removes her from the convent where he forcibly sent her years earlier and orders her to marry Beatrice’s fiancé, a repulsive old merchant named Vincenzo. Panicked, Laura betrays a powerful man to earn her way into the Segreta, a shadowy society of women who deal in only one currency—secrets. The Segreta seems like the answer to Laura’s prayers. The day after she joins their ranks, Vincenzo is publicly humiliated and conveniently exiled. Soon, however, Laura begins to suspect that her sister’s death was not a tragic accident but a cold-blooded murder—one that might involve the Segreta and the women she has come to trust.

What about you? What have you been reading lately?  Tell me here, or link to your blog.  I want to know!

[Don’t forget that the BVC Grand Opening Contest ends midnight June 7!]

 

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday (June 6, 2012)

  1. denise

    finished reading an author’s ARC for whom I promised to write a review in exchange for getting the ARC

    currently reading Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins

    TBR: Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow, the second in the trilogy about Marie Antoinette by Juliet Gray; and Sea Change by Karen White which may trump Juliet’s book if it arrives before I finish the one I’m currently reading

    • The Marie Antoinette books sound interesting. I read The Queen’s Confession which was a novel about her life. I was in high school at the time.

  2. Off-topic, but I just wanted to thank you for inspiring me! Check out my latest post about purging books! 😀

  3. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick quietson that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – 9-10-2014 | Book View Cafe Blog

Hit me with it.

