Harvest Monday — May 21, 2012

Oh, this was a week.  A week, I tell you.  But before we talk about this week, I will dip back in time to last week and the tragedy that I forgot to mention last Monday.

My Adirondack Blue taters rotted in the pot.  Didn’t have good drainage at the bottom and I never saw trouble until the last two or three weeks.  If I’d dumped it sooner I probably would have saved some, but as it was, the entire pot smelled like rotten potatoes and the only three sizable ones were well on their way to rotting.  There were some little ones and after I washed them they didn’t smell like rot.  I don’t know whether to trust them or not.  So right now they’re just looking pretty.

Okay, that tragedy out of the way.  Live and learn.  Next up, the murder of the Early Girl.

I am still unable to talk about it.  The dog is still alive. That’s all I’m saying on the subject.

And now–the good stuff.

I harvested basil and made pesto.  Yay!

I got another couple of tiny Supersweet 100s.

I harvested my very first costata romanesca George! (Too early, I’m pretty sure. You look and tell me. It was greener on the day it bloomed than it is now. That’s odd if you ask me.  See?)

Blooming George and his post-blooming friend, er, Kramer!

George, cut down before his time?

These two strawberries didn’t last long enough for the photo shoot so I’ll show them here:

One thing that excited me was I picked two pasilla peppers! I first read about them in a Rick Bayless recipe and went to the supermarket looking for some. They turn black when they’re dried. Didn’t find them, forgot about it. Fast forward a few months and I find a pasilla chile plant.  Yay!  I am now drying them. If you see them in the picture they look a little shriveled.  I assume this is a good thing.

And finally, the grand tally and (most of) the photo evidence.

My first week to get more than a pound of something!

1 lb.  7.3 oz. yellow squash, for the win!  (some of which got eaten before the photo shoot)

.48 oz Supersweet 100 tomatoes (mine look nothing like the monster on that page, drat it)

7.12 oz.  Adirondack blue potatoes (which may not be edible, I dunno)

1.7 oz of George (and yes, looking at that picture, I mos def picked too soon)

.96 oz of pasilla pepper

3.14 oz of genovese basil

Now.  Either post your own pics so we can go see them, or go see the others at daphne’s.  It’s harvest Monday!

 

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under Garden, George the Costata Romanesca, Monday Harvest, Square Foot Gardening

14 responses to “Harvest Monday — May 21, 2012

  1. well that was a nice haul! I’d say if those potatoes look and feel firm then they are probably just fine. Too bad that happened tho. I felt really stupid when I moved a large tub with three potato plants from the greenhouse out onto the patio….. Direct sun on dark green plastic basically boiled them alive; total loss.

  2. There is real tragedy in your garden – some death and rot it seems! LOL!

    Sorry the potatoes spoilt and the dog had a run in with the tomato plant.

    The harvest basket of goodness is pretty amazing though and certainly must be a consolation to you for your two losses.

  3. Andrea

    Your harvest basket looks so colorful………………..Some days/weeks can be a challenge especially when dogs,plants and husbands are involved………………….

  4. denise

    you could always try to use those potatoes for seed potatoes and start all over

    • I dunno that I trust them. They would probably be okay, but I also wonder if the stress of being in rotten soil would impair them, somehow.

  5. Liz

    Great basket of colour. Your basil’s looking particularly good. Congrats on your peppers.

  6. Love the colorful basket! We’re only at the start of the season so no potatoes, tomatoes or peppers just yet.

  7. Those are such gorgeous pix! Your comment about the dog still living takes me back to my first and last venture in flower gardening. It wasn’t a tomato. It was the massacre of an entire prepared garden that ran the length of the back of the house, which I had slaved over for days removing dead bushes, tenacious vines, rocks, old fencing, and weeds. Then adding soil and newspapers and mulch before planting, and surrounding all with a pretty white fence. To keep the dog out. Which didn’t work. I never touched that garden again. Good thing Tom was home. For the dog, I mean.

    • Oh, that would destroy me! I had a dog destroy a planter box once and I just about fell apart. I can’t imagine working as hard as you did and having it all murdered!

Hit me with it.

