WWW & Where In the World Wednesday, together for the first time!

First, a link to my contest where you can win a $20 gift certificate from the online book source of your choice, or free books from Book View Cafe!  LINK!

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

The Isle of Glass , the first book in the Hound and Falcon Trilogy, by Judith Tarr. I found this in a review: The central character is Alfred (Alf). A foundling left at an abby who becomes a monk, yet he is never just a monk. His magical powers lead him to question everything from his ancestry to the existence of his soul.

Well, ya got me. I’m in.

 

Also, on the nonfiction front, I’m using The Kitchen Garden, by Alan Buckingham. This is a really solid book with lots of photographs and information and how-to. It helped me diagnose a nitrogen deficiency in my seedlings and identify a critter. I really like it with only one exception. It is set up to give you a month by month in your garden, when to plant, when to harvest, but this is not written for Dallas climate. As it was recced to me by Annie Talbot and she lives in Illinois, I’m assuming it’s written for Northern climes? Anyway, all I need to do is figure out how many months to shift it forward and I think it will be fine. In the meantime I’ll continue using it as a reference.

• What did you recently finish reading?

A ripsnorter of a steampunk novel, The Doomsday Vault, first in a series by Steven Harper. According to the cover copy, In a clockwork Brittania, Alice’s prospects are slim. At 21, her age and her unladylike interest in automatons have sealed her fate as an undesirable marriage prospect. But a devastating plague sends Alice off in a direction beyond the pale-towards a clandestine organization, mad inventors, life-altering secrets, and into the arms of an intrepid fiddle-playing airship pilot. Well, now. What’s not to love? Clockworkers, zombies, aristocracy and underworld, and did I mention a gent with rather tawdry sexual proclivities? This AU London has it all. Innovative and compelling, and wow, the ending is nonstop with more than its fair share of unexpected twists and turns. I highly recommend!

In audiobooks, the series that began with Dissolution was calling my name and so I returned to the second in the series, Dark Fire, by CJ Sansom.  This time Matthew Shardlake gets caught up in Cromwell’s machinations again, much to his dismay, only this time he has two mysteries to solve. The one he cares about–to save a young girl who appears to be innocent from death, and the one he has to accomplish for Cromwell, that goes against everything he believes in. Another fascinating outing in the Tudor times, a worthy follow-up to Dissolution.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Oh, that’s a tough one! I need something very, very light next. Fun. Easy. Any suggestions? You know what I like (England and history and such in any genre).

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

And finally, one last thing. Where in the World Wednesday takes us to…

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

Click through the picture to get to the stunning wallpaper. Is that iconic, or what?

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “WWW & Where In the World Wednesday, together for the first time!

  1. I like sounds of the books you recently finished. I think I’m going to have to add them to my wishlist. That picture is also GORGEOUS. I love sunset photos! Thanks for sharing.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    • My friend Plum and her husband spent the Christmas hols in Tanzania, and the pictures they brought back were just like from a National Geographic. But the sunsets were my faves!

  2. Ooh I haven’t heard of any of these books – but I might have to check my library for The Kitchen Garden – I’m trying to be more active in that area and could definitely use more knowledge. And my suggestion for your next book – Mistress of Rome – it’s historical fiction and one of my favorite books read so far this year.

    • The All New Square Foot Garden by Mel Bartholomew was what got me started in gardening this spring, and I can’t recommend it enough! Mistress of Rome… Colleen McCollough? I know a lot of people who love her books. I’ll look for that. Thanks!

  3. currently reading: about five books on cooking, gardening and one love story that is also around chocolate thing. So gardening/cooking theme is winning for the time being.
    finished reading: I’ve got your number by Sophie Kinsella (love her books, they make me happy); The Bucolic Plague by Josh Kilmer-Purcell; Whild Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz, well, my list is long as I always read several books at the same time, depending what I am into that day.
    What do you think you’ll read next? Another cookbooks (love it), I have found an interesting book on history of Italian food. Then Gordon Ramsay’s Playing with Fire; Bloom by Kelle Hampton, Radical Simplicity by Jim Markel. I think that will do it for now. 🙂

    • If you have any particular cooking/gardening books that you think are terrific, I’d love if you mentioned them on your blog. (Or have you already? I haven’t had a chance to dig around there, yet.)

      Radical Simplicity–that intrigues me. I’m going to search that one out. Thanks!

  4. That steampunk novel looks wonderful! And I’m glad you’re enjoying the Kitchen Garden. I imagine that you’ll have to move things up at least six weeks, though for it to be useful for you.

    Oh, and I’m currently re-reading Suz Brockmann’s new novel, with Jayne Castle’s new release queued behind it. I just finished Nora Roberts’ The Witness, which I reviewed on my site.

    Happy reading! (and gardening!)

    • Believe it or not, I’ve had trouble finding a planting calendar/list for my area. I looked on the county extension agent sites, which used to be the go-to sources for such info, and haven’t found it. But I will!

      • My broccoli/brussels sprouts, which have been in for a month, are doing great! But I didn’t plant the cabbages/cauliflower quickly enough I’m afraid. They’re not looking so good.

        The lettuces are going in today, though. Hopefully, they’ll take well! And I’m hoping to get the asparagus and rhubarb in, although I won’t get to see what they’re doing until next year.

        I love gardening!

      • It was too late for quite a few things when I got started but chard has done well for our salads, along with our lettuce.

        I’d LOVE to grow brussels sprouts. Maybe I can figure that one out for fall/winter.

  5. Valentina

    The Isle of Glass looks awesome 🙂

  6. I haven’t heard of any of your books but I’m on my way to check them out!

    What a lovely, lovely photo!

  7. Hi Pooks, very interesting books! 🙂

    Here you can find my WWW for this week:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/04/www-wednesday-apr25.html

    Bye!
    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  8. Haven’t heard of any of those, but the steampunk one sounds pretty cool 🙂

Hit me with it.

