WWW Wednesday (11-April-2012)

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

First, I’m dipping back into steampunk with The Doomsday Vault: A Novel of the Clockwork Empire by Steven Harper.  According to the cover copy, In a clockwork Brittania, Alice’s prospects are slim. At 21, her age and her unladylike interest in automatons have sealed her fate as an undesirable marriage prospect. But a devastating plague sends Alice off in a direction beyond the pale-towards a clandestine organization, mad inventors, life-altering secrets, and into the arms of an intrepid fiddle-playing airship pilot.  Well, now. What’s not to love?

All New Square Foot Gardening  by Mel Bartholomew. He was an engineer and efficiency expert who had never gardened until he retired, and then turned his expertise on the backyard garden. If you’re an experienced gardener you may immediately roll your eyes, but I’m telling you, this not only makes sense but it’s easy. Much easier than tilling and plowing and raking and weeding.  I wish I’d read the book before I got started, actually.  I thought I could follow the various videos on youtube and learn enough, and I did, as far as that goes.  But there are certain things I would have done differently had I actually read the book first.

What did you recently finish reading?

Dissolution The first in a mystery series set in the time of Henry VIII, with Matthew Shardlake sent by Cromwell to root out papist sin and debauchery (plus straighten out some financial issues that should result in more money for the Crown, natch) from a problematical abbey. This was been highly recommended to me and I think it was an excellent mystery and historical setting.  I figured out one part of the mystery fairly early but there were so many twists and turns, a complex story and world which made for a fun reading/listening experience.  It had an excellent reader.

Half a Crown by Jo Walton.  Having finally read the third in Jo Walton’s “Small Change Trilogy,” I have to say I loved the trilogy as a whole even though the ending of this one was satisfying on a story level but felt rushed on an emotional level. I have no reservations about recommending it to those who love alternate history, and/or an exploration of “what ifs” that tackle the British class system and prejudices and how they might have evolved post WWII had they not outright won the war (along with the Allies).  Hmm, that sounds rather dry, doesn’t it?  Well, it’s not at all. Love the series. Check it out.

I also had a fast, fun read of International Kittens of Mystery by Chris Dolley.  Chock full of darling kitten adventures and photos! Too cute!

 

 

 

What do you think you’ll read next?

I read samples of several books before I found one that kept me involved this week with Doomsday Vault.  Oddly enough (maybe not so oddly?) non of them were the ones below that I listed last week.  Maybe I should try one of them next.  Stay tuned until next Wednesday to find out which book shouldered its way to the top of the stack!

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Garden, Reading, Review, Square Foot Gardening, WWW Wednesday

4 responses to “WWW Wednesday (11-April-2012)

  1. I’m really interested in the concept of square foot gardening. I had hoped to start doing this with my kids to get us into gardening more. Maybe I should check out the book you mentioned first. Thanks for sharing. My WWW: http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/www-wednesdays-april-11/

    • It’s an excellent plan to use with kids. With kids, you’d make your raised beds only 3 feet wide instead of 4, because the goal is to be able to reach across to the middle and plant or tend things. I definitely recommend his book, too. Then watch various youtube videos. They’re very helpful. The main thing I did differently is that I didn’t stick to “Mel’s mix,” the blend of stuff he said to put in the beds. I used things that ended up being denser but that I thought were richer and more substantive as far as nutrients go. Well, the one pot I filled using Mel’s mix has grown MUCH MUCH better and faster and healthier than the other stuff. Incredible.

  2. Dissolution sounds so good!

Hit me with it.

