WWW Wednesday (March 28, 2012)

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

The Book Thief.  Everybody in the world seems to be in love with this book so who am I to hold back? As I mentioned last week, it’s told through the point of view of Death and I’m very much in adoration with the great Sir Terry Pratchett‘s Death.  That’s okay. I can make room for another one.

But it feels like a book I would want to feel closer to, the characters and situations, and not view it from a distance the way it’s starting out.

I just noticed the cover, the dominos… interesting.

Enough musing, time to read!

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Matched, the first book in a Young Adult dystopian future trilogy.  I first discovered it by seeing how many other WWW Wednesday folks were reading it. I downloaded a sample because the premise intrigued me:  Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

Another reader mentioned that she didn’t usually like romances but she loved this trilogy. I think that is because this is not a very romancey romance. Yes, the premise is that of a love story, but the dystopian world–the Society–is compelling and by far a bigger issue.  I gave it five stars and will be reading the sequels soon.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Tough question. I have another library book waiting, a book I would have thought I’d read long before now. I’m not sure what’s holding me back. So maybe Blackout by Connie Willis. I’ve loved her work for so long, especially her Oxford Time Travel books, and World War II England is a time period I do find fascinating.

 

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

14 Comments

Filed under Books, Library books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

14 responses to “WWW Wednesday (March 28, 2012)

  1. Blackout is on my reading list for Spring – it’ll be my first book by Willis but I’ve heard so many good things.

    • I’ve read a number (all? not sure) of hers, but Doomsday Book and To Say Nothing of the Dog are my two faves, both from her Oxford time travel series.

  2. I really loved The Book Thief. You might think that you won’t get attached to the characters now but I was shattered by this book by the end. Totally made me sob…and if this was from the POV of the characters…well…I may not have survived it.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    • Wow, that’s an incredible reaction. I just got a notice that Book Thief will be turned back into the library in less than three days. That snuck up on me. Now I’m wondering whether or not I should start it, do I have time to finish!

  3. We read The Book Thief for my book group and we probably had one of the best discussions. I loved it and went into it thinking I was going to struggle with it. And I just got Matched and need to read it ~ glad you liked it!

    My WWW

    • I almost backed out of it because the idea of that library deadline hanging over me is annoying, but instead I kept reading during lunch. I guess I just need to finish it before the end of the 30th!

  4. I haven’t read the Book Thief, but maybe I should! Btw, I love Death in Terry Pratchett’s novels also!

    Here’s my WWW
    http://lostinthought-becca.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/www-wednesday-6.html

  5. I read The Book Thief a while back and really enjoyed it. At first, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the writing at the beginning (like you, the distance thing seemed strange), but the more I read, the more I enjoyed the story. Don’t give up on it, you will still get close to the characters!

  6. I really enjoyed The Book Thief–I hope you do, too. I’ve got Matched in my queue, I think I’ll move it up after reading your review of it. 🙂

    • The world-building is really fascinating. Bit by bit, details of life come out, and there is such a logic to it, you can see why it seemed like a good idea at the time… (wicked chuckle)

Hit me with it.

