A Subversive Plot

I was not a hippie.

But I think a certain amount of hippie culture leeched into all of us. (Can something leech into? Or must it only leech out?)

There is something subversive feeling about planting my organic garden and thumbing my nose at the supermarket and its tomatoes shipped in from Mexico and plums from Peru.  I like knowing that the money I spent building a raised bed and planting seeds and seedlings goes directly into my health and even (dare I say) the health of the planet, whereas the majority of the money I spend for vegetables at the supermarket goes to the petroleum-based transportation costs of getting the food to me.

This is a boring entry, isn’t it?

Still, it’s what is on my mind.  And this video amused and inspired me this morning:

Just as this book amused and inspired me a couple of years ago: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

You might think calling a garden “subversive” is a bit of hyperbole, but Julie Bass of Oak Park, Michigan would beg to differ.

 

[The city eventually dropped charges after international attention and ridicule.]

I’m shallow enough to want my garden to be pretty as well as subversive.  My dream front yard would be a true cottage garden like existed in England a couple of centuries ago, a mix of flowers, herbs and vegetables, and not a blade of grass in sight.

For now, I’m satisfied with our three raised beds and numerous large pots, and am eager to see how this experiment in subversion turns out.

Today, I need to take a couple of leaves to the organic nursery and ask, “What is eating my peppers and lettuce?”

A subversive gardener can never let her guard down.

Oh, look! Here is somebody who is actually doing it! Putting a vegetable garden in their front yard. She just started. Watching this is going to be fun.

[Okay, who is going to break the news to me that I misused leech?]

 

6 Comments

Filed under Garden, Square Foot Gardening

6 responses to “A Subversive Plot

  1. denise

    I agree. I grow my own and I take bounty from my parents who grow their own. I learned from them and the farmers in my ancestry (going back 1 generation and beyond). In fact, there’s a book with O. Winston Link’s RR photography–The Last Steam Railroad in America–that shows my dad, grandpa and Uncle Roy in rural SW Virginia harvesting corn (p.67 &pp86-87). My dad has an original print from OWL himself.

    I learned to can/freeze from my mom and grandmas.

    My friend Marsha grows hers in her side yard, mine is in the back. I’m glad Julie Bass won–hers was done tastefully, pun intended, and neatly. Growing up, most of our suburban backyard was garden and so was my friend Rose’s. Hers was the one where you’d find all the Italian veggies, peach trees for wine, figs, etc… I know my dad is glad to be back on the homestead acreage in the mountains of Tennessee. And, he went organic because he also has a small apiary.

    I’d love to have an English cottage and garden, but the HOA would prevent that.

    Grow it, eat it and enjoy it.

    • SW Virginia as in current Virginia? I’ve got ancestors from West Virginia (but it was still Virginia when they got there).

      I need to learn to can, but I guess first I need to grow enough to merit it.

      • denise

        Washington County, VA, near Abingdon. My husband has kin in WV and KY.

        Couple of 5 gal. buckets full of tomatoes is enough to can and fill 12 qt. of sauce. You can do it in one day. Actually, the canning is the fast part, cooking the sauce over most of the day is the long part. But, you can do other stuff while cooking–don’t have to babysit it the whole time.

      • A couple of 5 gallon buckets… I don’t think I’ll have that kind of crop this year! But it’s something to work toward.

  2. Tim Miller

    It’s an interesting question, because “to leech” certainly means to drain something (blood, life force) OUT of something. But check the interwebs and you’ll see numerous references to substances, usually toxic, leeching into the ground water around a plant, mine, etc. I’d have to say you’re on the cutting edge of the definition, but not on point.

Hit me with it.

