Lazy Sunday Morning

Slept late-ish. Well, was up before nine even though I would have liked to sleep later, but that’s still later than on weekdays.

Cleaned kitchen which was a mess from last night, since I didn’t even get our dinner (pasta with spinach/basil pesto, with peppers, brussel sprouts and broccoli to mix as desired) on the table until after nine, which left I big mess since I made it all from scratch. Well, except the pasta. Okay, I didn’t grow the veggies from scratch but everything started off raw… I don’t really need to explain, do I?

Sat at table with Resident Storm Chaser sipping tea and watching some HD videos of birds in our backyard that he is messing around with.

Opened compost tumbler to toss in carnage from last nights veggie chopping, noticed how wet it was, so got newspapers and sliced them up with paper cutter and added to mess. Did a few other pesky little compost-related things, like cutting up corrugated box to put in.

I also ripped up the box my kitchen mushroom garden came in and tossed it into the compost tumber.  I then broke the dried up brick of coffee grounds (which is what the mushrooms grew in, and man, were they delicious) and was about to toss them into the composter as directed to do when growing was through, and got thoughty about it all.  Inside the brick I saw powdery stuff (more mushroom spores?) and such, and thought, hmmm. You see, when I looked at their video they said to soak the thing overnight in water and then do the twice-daily misting thing, but on the box it just said mist, and so I didn’t soak in water.  And I didn’t get nearly as many mushrooms as they show in the pics.  So I decided to soak the dried brick in water today and see if I can get more mushrooms out of it before I compost. I am such a scientific pooks! (Not really. But it’s worth an experiment, anyway.) Of course I know longer have the box to put it back in, ahem. I think it should survive that, though. Science! Experiment!

Click to go to source of image, cool garden blog!

 

Surfed net to explore stuff I’ve planted, only to discover I planted Zucchini – Heirloom “Costata Romanesco” in a square foot plot with a cage and it looks like maybe it should have been in a big pot with room to spread, ooops.  It hasn’t come up yet.  Maybe I should plant some other seed there and when I can tell the difference, yank the squash. In the meantime, plant more squash seed in big pot? Hmmm. By the way, in case you’re wondering, and I absolutely know you are, Costata Romanesco is a predecessor to the hybrid zucchini we all eat.  It is only half as prolific (which seems a good thing, after all the jokes about anybody with zucchini not being able to give away the excess) but twice the flavor, nuttier and richer.  Sounds like a win to me.

And now I’ve written this which would be a faster process if I didn’t hunt down links and stuff but I like pictures and links.

Now it’s after noon and I’m going to plant something and then keep reading the sample I downloaded for Matched, a YA novel it seems that all the WWW Wednesday chicks are reading, where Society makes all choices for you, including your mate. “Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black….” Yeah, I’m in.

Have a great day!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Compost, Garden, Reading, Square Foot Gardening, WWW Wednesday, Young Adult

6 responses to “Lazy Sunday Morning

  1. We sometimes get volunteer squash plants in our compost, so I have some experience moving them. You have to be gentle and take a lot of soil with them to transplant safely, since the roots and stems are both fragile.

    If you just barely planted them, so the seeds aren’t yet cracked open, move soil and all now and add more soil to your plot. Otherwise, wait until you can see where they are and move them carefully with lots of soil then add more soil to your plot.

    I’ve had winter squashes climb cages/fences pretty well; no idea about zucchini though since they’re very prolific and I don’t like them, so I never planted them.

    Good luck!

    • When I saw that this particular squash was vining, I assumed a cage would work. But when I saw the pics and the leaves were so huge I decided it wouldn’t, after all. Thanks for the advice. Will do!

      • Foliar feeding (spraying the lavees of the plants) with a dried kelp product, such as maxi-crop, or fish emulsion (Neptune’s harvest is the least stinky of all the fish emulsions) will get you some quick growth organically. I use a mix of both on my crops especially in the late winter/early spring before the soil wakes up and also whenever the crops look lees than thriving,i know you can get fish emulsion products at almost any hardware store, finding powdered kelp is harder and i have only gotten it through on-line sources Was this answer helpful?

  2. denise

    That’s cool you grew your own mushrooms–might help to put them in a dark place or a breatheable box with a lid. I grew up near the mushroom capital of the world, so I never felt the need to grow my own. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kennett_Square,_Pennsylvania The mushroom houses–no caves–are very obvious when you drive through the area even if you don’t smell the mushroom soil composting–not sure how you could miss that smell, though. Be glad you grew yours in coffee grounds. 🙂

    I can’t plant anything ’til Mother’s Day because of frost, so I’m enjoying your gardening. Never seen squash in a cage–just in huge plots like you would for pumpkins, melons, etc…– so you’ll have to keep us posted. You can always call a college/university EXT office for gardening help and they’ll know what’s best for your region, too.

    • I think it’s possible that the oyster mushrooms might grow in my compost tumbler since when I broke the brick of coffee grounds open, a big chunk fell in. I may wait and not tumble it for a few days to see what happens.

      I don’t have room for huge plots, or rather, if I did it that way, I wouldn’t have room for anything else!

      • Adding worms to the dirt would make a great difference. Also, it needs lot of heat to grow. Perhaps a heat lamp would help? Place your plant pot on a sheet of foil and set it under an airdnory lamp or heat lamp whichever is availble to you keep it in a room temp of about 90, with the soil moist at all times. Was this answer helpful?

Hit me with it.

