WWW Wednesday (March 21, 2012)

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

 I kept having the same images here week after week and I finally have something new. A light romance, another library book checked out to my Kindle: A Dangerous Love. A story of an arranged marriage (or rather, an attempt to arrange a marriage) that looks like it will be fun. It was also fun choosing a cover, since I found several. This book seems to have been through several editions. I decided to go with The Sultry Guy cover. Sue me.

 

Also, I’m still listening to For Heaven’s Eyes Only: A Secret Histories Novel. There is only one book left in this series after this one, so I guess I’ll dip into Simon R Green’s “Nightside” series next, since so many people think it’s better than this one. I’m really enjoying this one so that means better is ahead? Do I dare hope?

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great the first book I’ve checked out from the library. Once I got it onto my Kindle (took a bit of hunting to figure out how) I sank into it  and  found it to be a very quick read. And then I wondered, what does that mean? Was it really faster to read, or did it just feel fast? What made it so?

And I don’t have an answer to that. But I’ve never read anything about Catherine the Great before, and this view of her from her first moments as a young girl in the Russian court, under consideration as wife to the young tsar, told through the eyes of another young girl whose future was totally reliant on the whims of the Empress Elizabeth was compelling.  I give it four stars.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have two library books ahead of me and am trying to be good about those so probably one of them, The Book Thief. Have you read it? What did you think?  I started it and it’s quite interesting, told through the point of view of Death.  On the other hand, the great Sir Terry Pratchett‘s Death owns such a piece of my imagination, that is a tough act to follow!

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Library books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

10 responses to “WWW Wednesday (March 21, 2012)

  1. I loved The Book Thief. It is one of my favorite books, now. I am hoping the author writes some more books with similar themes from the point of view of death. It was so intriguing and interesting!

    • I keep hearing raves about it, so am looking forward to it! As I said, I fell in love with Death in Terry Pratchett’s books, beginning with MORT. Great fun and also thought provoking.

  2. denise

    Finished the Guns and Roses anthology…read a couple of novellas on my kindle and yesterday I received two new historical fiction novels–Sabrina Jeffries To Wed A Wild Lord ( I had started a sneak peak on S&S website and it kept going on–I might have been able to read the whole book, so I decided to buy it) and Sarah MacLean’s new book in her new series A Rogue By Any Other Name (I met her and have read her first trilogy. She teaches a free writing “course” to girls in NYC.)

    Thanks for your review of the Catherine the Great novel.

    • I can’t remember whether I read To Wed a Wild Lord or listened to it on audiobook, but I liked it. There’s nothing like a historical romance to “take me away!”

  3. I loved the Book Thief! It was very different.

  4. I very much want to start “The Book Thief!”

Hit me with it.

