WWW Wednesday (March 14, 2012)

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Again, I will list Ha’penny, the sequel to Farthing. I really do want to know what is happening to those characters now. This is the fascinating alternate history series in which the English negotiate a truce/peace with Hitler instead of continuing the war, and they are left to their own devices whilst Hitler controls Europe and continues banging away on the USSR. There is interesting use of voice and pov, and the characters are cleverly chosen to illustrate several kinds of prejudice in a suspenseful tale of “might have been.”

Also, I’m listening to For Heaven’s Eyes Only: A Secret Histories Novel. It surprises me that even though there have been two or three different readers for this series, it doesn’t bother me. They are all good and I just slip into the next reader’s voice without too much issue, which isn’t always the case. James Bond for the supernatural set? Fun!

What did you recently finish reading?

 The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. I adore this German cover. I hadn’t pictured Flavia this way, but it fits, oh yes my darlings, it fits.  Very Wednesday Addams, and when you consider that this ten-year-old chemistry prodigy has a passion for poisons, well, yes, it’s as perfect an image as I’ve seen. What a fabulous female character.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve checked The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great out from the library on the recommendation of friends. It looks good, so I think it will make it to the top of my WTR (want to read) stack next.

 

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, leave a link below! Otherwise answer here.

14 Comments

Filed under Audible, Audiobooks, Books, Library books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

14 responses to “WWW Wednesday (March 14, 2012)

  1. denise

    almost done with Bobbie Faye in the Guns and Roses anthology, then I will finish The Gift–finally like it–and then Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos (met her recently and received this as a freebie, plus it’s autographed).

  2. Katy

    Ha’Penney looks good!

    I follow MizB at http://katybrandes.wordpress.com/.

  3. Ooh that Flavia De Luce cover is gorgeous – I’m not a huge fan of the series though – not the book’s fault – just can’t wrap my head around a 10 year old crime solver.

    • Were you unable to get into the books or the premise was enough to turn you off?

      I found the book trailer and I think I’m going to post it tomorrow. It’s the same voice/reader as the audiobooks and I adore her!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Oh yes I am interested in hearing about Winter Palace myself. I saw it up on the suggestion shelve at my own library!

    Here is mine!

    WWW

Hit me with it.

