One more reason to love Hermione's Handbag

I’m very slow to get around to this, but wow, I just checked three books out from the library.  The local public library.  They will load onto (into?) Hermione’s Handbag automatically (and if I understand this process, will also vanish automatically, which means — no late fines!)!

I checked out The Book Thief, The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great and A Dangerous Love (Swanlea Spinsters, Book 1).

You’ll hear what I think about them, it’s safe to say!

[Speaking of library books, I have exciting news that I will reveal later.]

And speaking of books and libraries also reminds me–

As you may recall, by eliminating a ton of books from my life and now using my Kindle for most new ones, I’ve freed up space to “build my library,” meaning, buying books I love, usually hardcover, and creating a library of special books rather than just any book I have ever purchased at any time in my life.

I’m loving the process.

And a new one is on the way to me.

A reread is definitely in my future.

Have you checked books out electronically from the library?

Which books would you want in hardcover that you don’t have now?

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under Books, ebooks, Kindle, Library books

11 responses to “One more reason to love Hermione's Handbag

  1. denise

    I haven’t and our library’s sent a special notice the other day listing the publishers who are no longer making ebooks available for borrowing and asking us to write letters. Seems a bunch have jumped ship. Our library was making it easy to lend the kindle, too. I think they had 6 per library to lend out in the trial with a waiting list.

    • Your library let people check out Kindles? That’s interesting. I hadn’t heard of that before. BTW, I still haven’t gotten my library books on the Kindle. I guess it wasn’t as automatic as I thought, because it didn’t come via wifi!

      • denise

        the libraries have kindles in special cases and they lend them out intact. the schools that are suing them, let the kids use them without them being in a special case.

        I’ll check the library website and see if I can find a picture for you.

        I hope the ones you borrowed show up soon.

  2. denise

    here’s the letter about the publishers: http://hcplonline.org/books/download/pdf/LetterfromDirector.pdf

    they also have this on their site:
    Not finding the eBook that you are looking for? Some publishers do not work with libraries or our vendor OverDrive.
    •Several major publishers (Simon & Schuster, Macmillan, Hachette and Penguin) have chosen not to distribute eBook titles to libraries. In the case of Hachette, they will license some older titles, but nothing that is new. In the case of Penguin they changed their business model recently and consequently their older titles might be available, but they will no longer do e-format business with public libraries.
    •Harper Collins will license to public libraries, but after a title has been borrowed 26 times, it is no longer available although it may still appear in the catalog, and must be purchased again. This causes difficulties with putting holds on titles since the holds will disappear after 26 circulations.
    •Penguin has also decided that they will no longer permit libraries to download electronic versions of their audiobooks. Again, titles that libraries already have in this format are exempt. Previously Brilliance Audio made a similar decision.
    •Publishers feel that providing eBooks to libraries reduces the profit margin. In addition, some publishers have mentioned a fear of piracy and multiple sharing of the content of e-books.
    •Libraries and the professional associations representing the library profession are in ongoing discussions and negotiations with publishers to find a solution that will benefit public library customers and the publishers.
    •Meanwhile there are still many smaller independent publishers who are willing and happy to make their content available to libraries in eBook format.

    None of the concerns that publishers have relating to digital content applies to traditional print or audiobooks on CD, and they are happy to continue to sell whatever they have in those formats to libraries.

    • I would not work well with electronic textbooks. I have to buy all my research books so I can highlight, use post-its, etc. Maybe they will eventually get a system I like, but I find it easier to flip to the right page in a real book than on my Kindle.

  3. Cool Stuff!I like your new layout, very cool. Your page inrsiped me to make an RSS and now it’s making want to work more on formatting.I do think devices like the Kindle will make libraries much less popular, but there’s just something about browsing libraries that will never get stale. Perhaps it’s just one of those human traditions that gives us a nostalgic feeling of knowledge? Besides, the library is a tool for the general public. The best part is they’re free so that means anyone can afford their use. Robot combing, great idea. The technology is already in place that could do this. Well, people will need to catalog the entire library system with these new fancy identifiers and attach the ID tags. It’d be great for mobile app potential. Think about all of those times you looked for a book and couldn’t find it right away!

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Female Fictional Characters Who Love Reading

Hit me with it.

