WWW Wednesday and March Madness for Readers

WWW Wednesday is at the end of this entry, if you’re here to see what is currently in Hermione’s Handbag.

But first, March Madness for Books!

For those of you who prefer indie bookstores to the big monster Amazon, you will love the Mothership of all Indies, Powell’s.

While you’re there, check out their March Madness Tournament in which, “A ridiculously small and poorly informed group of TMN editors and contributors have chosen 16 of the most cherished, hyped, ignored, and/or enthusiastically praised books of the year to enter into a month-long tournament, NCAA-basketball-madness style, beginning March 7, 2012.”

That’s today!

There are so many books on that list I already want to read, including The Marriage Plot, State of Wonder and The Sisters Brothers. I wish there were more hours in the day. If there were, I might download a bracket and…

Who am I kidding? I just might download one anyway.

AND NOW WHAT YOU’VE BEEN WAITING FOR — WWW WEDNESDAY!

From shouldbereading:

What are you currently reading?

Finally, Ha’penny, the sequel to Farthing. It won the Prometheus Award in 2008, and I really do want to know what is happening to those characters now. This is the fascinating alternate history series in which the English negotiate a truce/peace with Hitler instead of continuing the war, and they are left to their own devices whilst Hitler controls Europe and continues banging away on the USSR. There is interesting use of voice and pov, and the characters are cleverly chosen to illustrate several kinds of prejudice in a suspenseful tale of “might have been.”

What did you recently finish reading?

Nothing, but I finished listening to the second audiobook in the Flavia de Luce series, The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag and have downloaded and begin the fourth in the series, I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A Flavia de Luce Novel. Damn, I am loving these books, and see that the next four in the series are now under contract. Yay!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Timeless (The Parasol Protectorate, No. 5)
Last week I said I was sneaking peeks at this book, but I actually haven’t started reading it yet.  It might be next! But I’ve also begun reading the sample download of Eminent Outlaws: The Gay Writers Who Changed America, and it is really fascinating so… time will tell.

[If you want to see what else is in Hermione’s Handbag right now, you can click here.]

 

So, what about you?

Do you prefer independent bookstores to Amazon?

What have you been reading lately?

Have you succumbed to the digital age, yet?

Spill!

 

14 Comments

Filed under Audiobooks, Books, Independent Bookstores, Kindle, Reading, WWW Wednesday

14 responses to “WWW Wednesday and March Madness for Readers

    • I see Great Expectations isn’t holding up for you. I don’t have fond memories of it, but then I was 13 years old when it was forced on me!

    • Fantastic blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring wteirrs? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Bless you!

  1. Hi!
    I’m writing from Italy and it’s my first time on your blog! 🙂

    Here my WWW:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/03/www-wednesday-mar07.html

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

    • Italy! How exciting. I want to learn to speak Italian!

    • Dee

      Have you heard of the other “urban legend” about it’s more enovnirmentally damaging while manufacturing fluorescent bulbs than normal bulbs? I heard it sometime ago when somewhere decided to ban the traditional light bulb. Wonder if it’s true.

  2. I picked up Soulless yesterday after seeing your post for Timeless last week. I just have to see what this series is all about! Thanks so much for the rec!

    Here’s mine:

    http://wickedlybookish.blogspot.com/

    I’m also having a giveaway of 3 singed copies of Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead and 5 ebook copies. 7th -13th only! So come check it out!

    http://www.wickedlybookish.blogspot.com/2012/03/feelin-lucky-giveaway-hop.html

  3. denise

    still working my way through GUNS AND ROSES on the kindle, hard to find an indie store around here–pretty sure I’d have drive to the next county for one

    • I have links to some on my “recs” page for people who want to order online and have it shipped. And I just checked out my first library books for the Kindle! Wow!

  4. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag last week. I am kind of late getting around to other people’s WWWs. I am very interested in The Weed That Strings…. Will have to check out the series.

    • I just finished the fourth book in the series and now have to sit back and wait for more. The good news about starting an established series is you have several books to read. The bad is… eventually you have to wait with everybody else!

Hit me with it.

