WWW Wednesday — February 29, 2012

From shouldbereading:

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I’m still reading my friend’s manuscript, and I’m still enjoying it. Scotland, tarot cards, magic, strange creatures–I’d forgotten what an amazing imagination she had! (Oh, and shoes. Did I mention shoes? GREAT shoes.)  I feel guilty that I haven’t finished it already, but proofreading is a slower process than reading for fun.

HOWEVER!

AS OF YESTERDAY TIMELESS (The Parasol Protectorate, No. 5) IS ON MY KINDLE! (Have I been sneaking peeks and reading? Okay, yes I have!)

Also, I’m listening to the second audiobook in the Flavia de Luce series, The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. I really do enjoy these books!  I also received the hardcover UK edition of the first in the series, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. I look forward to actually reading it instead of listening, because I loved the use of language and the Britishisms, and want to see them written.

What did you recently finish reading?

Nothing, alas. I’ve been doing proofreading for several people instead.  That has been some good reading, though!

What do you think you’ll read next?

 

Again, I will list Ha’penny, the sequel to Farthing. I really do want to know what is happening to those characters now. This is the fascinating alternate history series in which the English negotiate a truce/peace with Hitler instead of continuing the war, and they are left to their own devices whilst Hitler controls Europe and continues banging away on the USSR.  There is interesting use of voice and pov, and the characters are cleverly chosen to illustrate several kinds of prejudice in a suspenseful tale of “might have been.”

 

 

What about you? What are your WWWs? If you post on your blog, let me know! Otherwise answer here.

13 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading, WWW Wednesday

13 responses to “WWW Wednesday — February 29, 2012

  1. That Jo Walton series sounds fascinating. I think I am going to have to check that out. I also really need to get back to reading Gail Carriger’s books. I read and loved the first one but never seem to have the time to read the others. =(

    My WWW is here

    • Thanks for stopping by, Irish! The Farthing/Jo Walton trilogy is quite compelling. I really am looking forward to the next one. You’ve also reminded of Deanna Raybourne so I guess those need to get back on my radar, as well!

  2. They sound great! I really must start the Parasol Protectorate series… 🙂
    My WWW post

  3. The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag looks magical! I’m definitely going to be adding that to my TBR pile, if only for the cover alone!
    Here’s my WWW: http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2012/02/www-wednesdays.html

    • You’ll want to read The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie first. These are wonderful books, with Flavia de Luce, the 11-year-old girl with a passion for poisons and chemistry solving murders in 1950 England. Very smart, very fun. Thanks for coming by!

  4. denise

    finished reading a Victorian anthology freebie from Kindle (so-so), working on the Guns and Roses anthology from the MurderSheWrites blog ladies because I have to know Bobbie Faye’s wedding hot mess, and still have The Gift on the backburner –giving it one more chance before I give up.

  5. I enjoy the Flavia de Luce books, too, I’ve just read the first couple. You’ve given me a couple to look up.

  6. The covers for the parasol protectorate series are always so beautiful! I really need to check that series out.

    Here’s mine:

    http://www.wickedlybookish.blogspot.com/

Hit me with it.

