My misadventures in gardening. 2012feb12

I’ve been wanting to have a raised bed Square Foot Garden for years, but that would mean actually getting one of the men in my life to build it.

[Okay now that it has been built I recognize that I probably could have done it myself, but not as quickly and as easily as Son Number One did, and that makes me feel even more guilty for not making the jambalaya I promised him. But I will. Promise!]

I now have a honkin’ big 4-foot by 6-foot garden in the sunny spot in my back yard!

Don’t mock.

Why a square foot garden? You don’t have to dig up the hard-packed soil that’s already there. You build a frame and fill it with soil, compost, manure, etc.  Much easier on the back.  But, that’s for when I can post pictures.

Yesterday I spent the day in and out of the “garden,” an adventure I wanted to document with photos, but I can’t find my photo cable.  I hope to do that soon, though. But in the meantime, I have found the coolest of coolio things to do in my garden. And easy! And if I’m going to kill plants, I may as well do it the easy way, right?

Look at this!

Yes! They really are growing lettuce in a grocery bag!

This opens up so many possibilities for me.  I am on my way to Whole Foods Market to pick up a few grocery bags vegetable planters.

And when I find the photo cable and upload pictures, maybe I will have pictures of grocery bag planters filled with lettuce or some other plant that needs moisture.

Are you gardening this year? Container? Indoor? Outdoor?

Do you like lettuce?

Tell me about it!

PS I am also loving watching garden videos on youtube. Don’t mock! They are very inspirational.  My garden does not look like this. Yet. [Can you believe he puts rattlesnakes in his bean patch???]

8 Comments

Filed under Garden, Organic

8 responses to “My misadventures in gardening. 2012feb12

  1. Iain Brown

    I really shouldn’t do it 🙂 but I have to ask … why can only a man build a Square Foot Garden?

    Also – the photos from the book you linked look tempting. But what happens when water restrictions hit? I would guess that a raised bed would suffer from drought far more than in-ground planting.

    • denise

      where I live, if water restrctions hit, you’re allowed to water a garden using buckets full of water, but not the hose.

    • I just found this comment, sorry. I’ll answer now. There are three reasons why I waited for one of the men in my family to build it.

      1) I am a klutz.
      2) I lack the logic gene and make everything harder than it has to be (except on rare occasions when I channel my mother and have a flash of brilliance and insight and am Absolutely Right but on those occasions the men in my family don’t believe it could be true and then ignore my brilliance, which it’s hard to blame them under the circumstances and yet, sometimes I really am Absolutely Right).
      3) I am lazy.

      What Denise says about drought is correct in our area, too. We are allowed to hand-water but not use sprinklers. You can easily hand-water a square-foot or raised bed with a hose in the morning and evening (and more often if your home and want to) without breaking any restrictions, I’m pretty sure. Unless our restrictions at Stage 3 or 4 are worse than I knew.

      Also, if there is a real concern about the raised bed drying out more quickly, you might be able to rectify that a bit by wrapping the lumber in plastic or ordering the fiberglass kits from the Square Foot Gardening site. I’ve seen that some people prefer to use treated lumber and then wrap it in plastic to keep the chemicals from leaching into the soil. We just used untreated. Also, cinderblocks are even less expensive than lumber.

  2. Ilene

    I love growin’ stuff, especially flowers and tomatoes. Mostly because I fancy a good tomato, and you can’t buy that in the stores.

    Here’s something you should know (in case you don’t): Heirloom varieties are prone to disease if you plant the same variety in the same spot year over. Hybrid tomatoes are more able to resist fungi and diseases that penetrate the soil of an established bed.

    My uncle used to grow the most amazing NJ tomatoes when they lived in Hazlett. He used to rent a rototiller and would cover his bed with black plastic to keep weeds out and moisture in. There was also an underground irrigation system. Serious business, this tomato farming.

    • I am putting my tomatoes in deep containers and hope they will do well. I do have some seedlings going (all heirlooms) but if they aren’t tall and healthy by the time it’s warm enough I will definitely buy bedding plants. I’m more concerned with actually getting a nice crop than sticking to my own seedings, and it does get too hot here for tomatoes to produce in midsummer. So timing is key.

  3. denise

    love the lettuce bag. I have a square foot garden. because my husband is only “so handy”–I do a lot of the repairs around here–we bought the kit at Home Depot and I had three tomato plants in it and lettuce last year. my best tomatoes were the ones I got from Dad in TN. Used those to make a case of sauce. yum!

    I made jambalaya tonight. 🙂 we had Fastnachts for dessert–Pennsylvania-German tradition. They’re basically a doughnut.

    • I did make jambalaya for him. He deserved it!

      I’m having so much fun with this. I am such a lazy person but this seems to be a lazy’s way to garden (so far). Maybe just because so far it’s “fun” and hasn’t turned into “work.” But even though hauling wheelbarrows full of dirt and such was hard work, as was dumping it and mixing it, it’s nowhere near as hard as digging!

Hit me with it.

