Things I Love Friday

First thing I love today, Friday: Titling this entry “Things I Love Friday,” which makes me sound like I might be organized or have structure or a plan for my blog or something.

Second thing I love today, Friday. OhMahFreakinGee, I found the best urban homesteading blog. Ever. Okay, I know I told you to sign up for my blog through email (and it’s not too late, it’s there in the sidebar, seriously, do it!) but today, Friday, I’m telling you, GO SIGN UP FOR THIS WOMAN’S BLOG.  First, read her about everything page.  Bad Mama Genny rocks. How hard does she rock? Well, maybe it’s just the mood I’m in this morning? But she describes it as:

Like a mommy blog. Except I’m not a mommy. And it’s about extreme DIY and homesteading. And food, food, food. And gardening in fishnets. And moonshine makin’. And the fine mess I’ve gotten us into this time. So not at all like a mommy blog. Ok, you know what, just read the damn blog.

She had me at fishnets and misfits and green hair and– just read the damn blog.

Third thing I love today, Friday. Persephone Books in London. Okay, I’m not at all certain I would love the books themselves because they are all dove grey. I am not a grey woman. [Can I get more shallow than that? I’m sure I can. But a row of dove grey books does not inspire me as a build my library.] However, they really do look cool. And here is the best thing about them ever (besides the fact that they are published in England and we all know how I feel about that):

“Persephone Books reprints neglected classics by C20th (mostly women) writers. Each one in our collection of 96 books is intelligent, thought-provoking and beautifully written, and most are ideal presents or a good choice for reading groups. Persephone prints mainly neglected fiction and non-fiction by women, for women and about women. The titles are chosen to appeal to busy women who rarely have time to spend in ever-larger bookshops and who would like to have access to a list of books designed to be neither too literary nor too commercial. The books are guaranteed to be readable, thought-provoking and impossible to forget. We sell mainly through mail order, through selected shops and we have our own shop.”  But they also have beautiful fabric endpapers and bookmarks; each title has its own design. They sound lovely, with so much attention to detail.  I may have to buy one, just to see. Amazon.com has the Persephone Classics in paperback but if I decide I want one, I may bite the bullet and get hardcover.

Fourth thing I love today, Friday.  The webcams at Sennen Cove. Anytime I want, I can look and see what the weather and the sea looked like today at that place I’d love to be. Sometimes the images can be pretty darned amazing.

 

Fifth thing I love today, Friday. Dogs.

Of course I love dogs everyday, all day and all night.

I just love dogs.

What do you love today, Friday?

 

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Book Covers, Books, Building My Library, England

10 responses to “Things I Love Friday

  1. denise

    lol blog is amusing… people make fun of me for grownign my own saffron–have you seen the price of saffron?

    love the store’s name–I’d buy something because of the name Persephone

    love your bloog–you’ve become one of my favorite bloggers because you combine books/literature with humor and aren’t trying to save me $$ (I can do that on my own)

    • How do you grow your own saffron? Crocuses? Crocii? (???) Tell me more! And I have a special fondness for the name Persephone which will become evident later…

      Thank you so much! That thrills me! Saving money has its place, but usually not when I’m window-shopping! Ha.

      • denise

        As you probably know, Greek and Roman mythology has a lot of parallels. I love Rosetti’s Pre-Raphaelite work of Proserpine, the Roman version of Persephone. It’s my favorite painting–though I’ve never seen it person–it’s at the Tate in London. The Delaware Museum of Art has the largest Pre-Raphaelite collection outside of England. Can’t wait to know how you will use Persephone.

        For me, the saffron crocus is easy to grow. My uncle gave me the bulbs more than a decade ago; I’ve split them several times and I even dug them up from my first house and moved them here and had no problems. Luckily, they must taste yucky, because the squirrels and chipmunks leave them alone. For me, they bloom in October. You harvest them right away, let it dry and store in a cool, dry place like any other spice. I don’t know if you need a special climate–the Mid-Atlantic is different than Spain’s– so you could probably grow them in Texas. On my mother’s side, I’m of Pennsylvania-German descent, and it’s used in a lot of traditional dishes people mistakenly call Pennsylvania Dutch. I’m of Southern descent (Scott’s Irish and German) on my father’s side, not so many uses in Southern food. lol.

      • So you just harvest the stamens of the crocus? I want to plant some!

        The fantasy trilogy I’m writing is set in England in the early 1800s, but my main character’s name is Persephone, and it does have some mythological influences. I adore the Pre-Raphaelite paintings! Adore. And that is one of my faves, too.

      • Denise

        Yes, just the stamens. The three strands are connected. Use your fingers (what I do) or tweezers. Flowers don’t last long, so in Spain they just pull the whole flower head when picking in the fields. I don’t know of a good source because my uncle got them from my great-aunt.

        One of my English lit. professors in college introduced me to Pre-Raphaelite art and I adore it, too! I also had a class in Greek and Roman art . It’s where I learned most about mythology since they don’t teach it in the public schools anymore. Went to the MMA with that class.

        If you’re ever near Philly, The Del. Museum of Art isn’t too far away in Wilmington, DE. They have a few Wyeths’, too. Larger Collection of Wyeths’ in Chadd’s Ford, PA.

        I’ll look forward to your trilogy. Love that time period and don’t mind a little fantasy with my historical fiction.

  2. denise

    I need to proofread consistently or find spellcheck…growing, blog OY!

    • I’m the worst ever. Once I posted a blog I wrote without correcting anything and people thought I was faking it.

    • Before 2009 I only had about 1 challenge a year: a pesarnol reading challenge that ‘came’ to me as I was reading. But this year… Even though I felt I kept myself on a tight leash (sticking to challenges that could overlap, books I had on my shelf and meant to read anyway etc.) I had a hard time balancing. Like you, I often couldn’t pick up a book of choice. Maybe the hardest part is that I started to write reviews (in English) on my blog this year; before I wrote them in Dutch for my online bookgroup (mailinglist). It takes so much time to write a review!Good luck with all your challenges… I especially like the New Year’s Resolution – hadn’t heard of it yet and I’m going to check it out NOW 😉

  3. I’m reading two books right now. Not my usual habit, but I didn’t want to wait to fisnih the first before starting a new ARC that showed up in my mail the other day. What are they, you ask?The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo HigashinoandJoy for Beginners by Erica BauermeisterI’m enjoying both, but have to say that Erica’s is going to be the winner of the two.Have a great week, Nat!

Hit me with it.

