What are you reading? It's WWW Wednesday!

I hope a lot of you respond either in comments or with a link to your own blog. This looks like fun, and I often find new books to read by doing things like this.  Oh and first, credit where credit is due, this meme is from shouldbereading:

 

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

• What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading The Crown, by Nancy Bilyeau.  A mystery set in the reign of Henry VIII (after he set aside Katharine of Aragon and off-with-her-headed Anne Boleyn, during his marriage to Jane Seymour). It is a cracking good tale with murder, blood, betrayal and crimes of passion, set amidst a world of religious peril, because the main character, Joanna, is a Catholic nun. (You might recall Henry VIII’s awkward relationship with Rome and the slight grudge he had against the Roman Church?)

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

Bellwether, by Connie Willis.  (I listed to the audiobook read by Kate Reading.) I have loved her other work and this was totally charming, thought-provoking and typical Willis. There’s a bit of zany romantic comedy going here, which all starts with a package delivered to the wrong desk. Pop culture and chaos theory and chimpanzees, oh my!

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I read the free sample of Farthing, by Jo Walton and was quite intrigued, so have bought and downloaded the rest of the book for my next read.  I will choose the lazy writer’s way to lure you into this one by simply quoting, “One summer weekend in 1949–but not our 1949–the well-connected “Farthing set”, a group of upper-crust English families, enjoy a country retreat. Lucy is a minor daughter in one of those families; her parents were both leading figures in the group that overthrew Churchill and negotiated peace with Herr Hitler eight years before.”  Lucy, it must be pointed out, is married to a Jewish man from London… another mystery novel, but this one might have slipped past most mystery-readers’ radar since it is shelved as Alternate History Fantasy. I’m sure I’ll have more to say once I’ve finished it.

So, your turn! What are your WWWs today? Answer in comments or post to your blog and post a link here.  No need to go all fancy with it like I did. I just was avoiding real work editing my novel taking a brief break from the day’s business!

11 Comments

Filed under Books, Reading

11 responses to “What are you reading? It's WWW Wednesday!

  1. Thank you for coming to look at my blog. In answer to your question it would either be On a Pale Horse. The first book in the series I reviewed, its one of the best. Or Demons dont dream. Its kinda in the middle of his other series but it gets you hooked and helps you to understand the ins and outs of his writing.

    Your page is BEAUTIFUL. Ive been working on mine but im not satisfied yet 🙂 I like the book you just finished reading it sounds right up my alley!

    new follower 🙂

    ~Sammy

    • Thank you so much! This website has special meaning to me on several counts so I’m glad you like it! If you’ve never read Connie Willis I think you might like her a lot. Anyway, this is a fun book (not all of hers are) and the way things tie together is very clever at the end.

  2. Interesting I might have to look into some of those…here are my www: http://newpaperadventures.blogspot.com/2012/01/www-wednesday_18.html

  3. I love mysteries. The Crown and Farthing spark my interest. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. denise

    Current: HELL TO PAY by Wendy Corsi Staub and I have to finish it by 1/27 because she’s speaking at a fundraiser I’m attending

    Just finished: THE STRANGERS ON MONTAGU STREET by Karen White

    Next: not sure, I have a big stack on the floor and in the Kindle (picked up a lot of e-freebies recently); guess I could pick up LA DESPERADA when it drops

    • I had to go look both of those books up, and they both look great. Hell to Pay starts off with a bang! (I read the opening scene.)

      Oh yeah, there is a book coming out next Tuesday called LA DESPERADA. Silly me, how did that slip my mind?

  5. These all look like wonderful books. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. =D

Hit me with it.

